Does the Belt of Thunderous Charging Work While Mounted?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Belt of Thunderous Charging wrote:

The belt magnifies the wearer’s momentum whenever she

charges, granting her a +2 bonus on bull rush and overrun maneuvers. Furthermore, when the wearer makes a charge attack, her melee weapons and natural weapons deal damage as if they were one size category larger than they actually are.

Does this apply to charges made while mounted?


The rules aren't terribly explicit on this, but they do hint.

Quote:
Lances and Charge Attacks: A lance deals double damage if employed by a mounted character in a charge.

This is in the Charge section. One could logically infer that the writers did intend for a mounted charge to be considered a charge, though, technically, your mount is making the charge, not you. The best advice I can always give is to ask your DM. Though, to be fair, if he says you can't, then I'd just strap the belt to my horse, because he's DEFINITELY charging. ;)


Brogue The Rogue wrote:

The rules aren't terribly explicit on this, but they do hint.

Quote:
Lances and Charge Attacks: A lance deals double damage if employed by a mounted character in a charge.
This is in the Charge section. One could logically infer that the writers did intend for a mounted charge to be considered a charge, though, technically, your mount is making the charge, not you. The best advice I can always give is to ask your DM. Though, to be fair, if he says you can't, then I'd just strap the belt to my horse, because he's DEFINITELY charging. ;)

Hmm. Thanks. Unfortunately this is for a PFS character, so it has to be DM-proof. That also means the mount can't wear the belt (neck items and barding only).

The Exchange

I have no idea, but I'll wait to see if a developer decides to post something.


If it's PFS, why not post in the PFS section, or email your Venture-Captain?

I don't know how they handles issues like these that are literally not covered by the rules, but they must have some sort of method. Contact a higher up and see what it is, or what you need to do to get the idea approved.


Brogue The Rogue wrote:

If it's PFS, why not post in the PFS section, or email your Venture-Captain?

I don't know how they handles issues like these that are literally not covered by the rules, but they must have some sort of method. Contact a higher up and see what it is, or what you need to do to get the idea approved.

Short answer: Rules questions get moved here.

Long answer: PFS is RAW. When RAW is explicitly a GM call, Mike Brock will make that call, and update the PFS FAQ.

If it's not a GM call and is just an ambiguously worded rule, it ends up here, where it is either unraveled by the community, answered by a developer, or falls off the radar.

EDIT: Also, it's not really the Venture Captain's job to answer rules questions. They're expected to be experts in PFS, but not necessarily PF. And it's ultimately Mike's call regardless (if a call is warranted).


Interesting. So you're saying it's essentially unusable as a mechanic until someone answers it? How odd. Schroedinger does not approve.


Brogue The Rogue wrote:
Interesting. So you're saying it's essentially unusable as a mechanic until someone answers it? How odd. Schroedinger does not approve.

It's a frustrating aspect of PFS, but basically on something like this, you can either take the risk and hope most Judges rule the way you want them to, or avoid the issue by not using the mechanic.

FWIW, as a Judge, I would probably say it doesn't work for mounted charges, mostly because the belt does not have the same text as Rhino Hide Armor that explicitly includes them.

As a player, I'd really like it to.


That makes sense.

Best of luck to you. I'll mark you as a FAQ candidate. :)


Brogue The Rogue wrote:

That makes sense.

Best of luck to you. I'll mark you as a FAQ candidate. :)

Much appreciated!

Also, softening my stance as a Judge after doing some more digging. The charge/mounted charge rules are kind of a mess, and an argument could easily be made either way for the charge actions to be treated the same, mounted or not.


*nods*

That's the conclusion I came to, as well. The phrasing is an amalgam of old editions, multiple writers, and numerous nascent ideas. Yikes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does the Belt of Thunderous Charging Work While Mounted? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions