Alter Self and damage - does it work like Enlarge / Reduce Person?


Rules Questions


The Alter Self spell allows you to potentially change the size of your character; it allows you to become a medium or small humanoid so assuming the size you chose was not your original size you would become a different size.

The Enlarge Person and Reduce Person rules include rules about how to handle weapon damage based on changes in size, but Alter Self does not.

Should I just invoke the rules from Enlarge Person / Reduce Person to handle the changes in weapon size when using Alter Self?

Peet


The answer lies in the description of the Polymorph subschool, in chapter 'Magic':

Polymorph wrote:
If a polymorph spell causes you to change size, apply the size modifiers appropriately, changing your armor class, attack bonus, Combat Maneuver Bonus, and Stealth skill modifiers. Your ability scores are not modified by this change unless noted by the spell.

And:

Polymorph wrote:
If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

Since weapons are part of your equipment, the rules should apply normally.


In particular I am talking about the rules for missile weapons, which are more detailed in enlarge person and reduce person than those rules. They state that when an enlarged or reduced person throws a weapon or shoots a projectile, the projectile returns to original size after leaving the body of the enlarged/reduced person. Does this happen with alter self?


Enlarge Person and Reduce person provide specific exceptions to the rules regarding size adjustments and ranged weapons. Those exceptions are not present in most other size changing spells. The only other spell that I can think of with this exception is Righteous Might.

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alter Self and damage - does it work like Enlarge / Reduce Person? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions