Spells... Level vs Caster Level


Rules Questions


I failed my save, and now i'm confused.
Luckily i rolled a 22% so I can post here quickly...

Some spells say "level" and others say "caster level"...
So what does the rogue/wizard do? Can he cheat by taking spells that say level?
H3LP?


Spell levels can be referred to as spell slots. A 1st level spell uses a 1st level spell slot except for when metamagic feats alter the spell, such as Empower (+2 spell level) which causes a 1st level spell to occupy a 3rd level spell slot.

Caster level refers to how powerful of a caster you are and is different from character level (total of all class levels).

For example, lets say your rogue/wizard is 4 levels Rogue and 3 levels Wizard and casts Magic Missile, a first level spell. You would cast 2 missiles for 1d4+1 because your caster level is 3 while your character level is 7 thereby making you unable to cast the four missiles allotted to caster level 7.

Hope this helps and isn't too wordy.


Unless it is further specified, the word "level" in a spell description refers to caster level.

If some other meaning of the word "level" is intended, the spell description will say "character level" or somesuch (e.g. Transformation).


Level when in reference to spells usually refers to Caster Level. Level in the context of class abilities usually refers to class levels. Levels refered to outside a specific context usually refers to character level.
However usually character level is spelled out almost in every instance.
Spell level also is usually spelled out. I don't remember a single instance where they just say "level" and mean spell level. Except when they say "the level of the spell" or something, which is nothing else but a longer way to say "spell level".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spells... Level vs Caster Level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.