
SkyHaussmann |

Hmm. Never run into this one... Going back and reading the text of all these feats and the scrolls section, I would say that Gifted Adept and Spell focus do not help you.
Gifted Adept: Whenever you cast that spell, its effects manifest at +1 caster level. Just increases the CL for the purpose of the effect, as opposed to Varisian Tattoo and Bloatmage which say: you cast spells from this school at +1 caster level.
Spell Focus deals not with CL but with DC's, so that has nothing todo with this AFAIK.
Since you are "casting" the spell off the scroll, I can see that Varisian Tattoo and Bloatmage would give +1's as you cast the spell at +! CL and are Making a CL check.
So unless anyone else can fill in the blanks about CL and those feats for me, I'd say you're looking at +3 vs DC 6 (1 level, 1 tattoo, 1 bloatmage).

![]() |

Isn't the caster level set when the scroll is made? If the wizard were the one making the scroll then the wizard is also the one casting the spell as part of the creation process so the increased caster level would be a part of the scroll. If the wizard is not the one creating the scroll then the statistics would be dependent upon whomever made the scroll to begin with I would think.
Someone jump in here if I'm mistaken...

Jeffrey Fox |

Isn't the caster level set when the scroll is made? If the wizard were the one making the scroll then the wizard is also the one casting the spell as part of the creation process so the increased caster level would be a part of the scroll. If the wizard is not the one creating the scroll then the statistics would be dependent upon whomever made the scroll to begin with I would think.
Someone jump in here if I'm mistaken...
The question is about the caster level check when trying to use a scroll when your not high enough level to cast the spell yourself.
Hmm. Never run into this one... Going back and reading the text of all these feats and the scrolls section, I would say that Gifted Adept and Spell focus do not help you.
Gifted Adept: Whenever you cast that spell, its effects manifest at +1 caster level. Just increases the CL for the purpose of the effect, as opposed to Varisian Tattoo and Bloatmage which say: you cast spells from this school at +1 caster level.
Spell Focus deals not with CL but with DC's, so that has nothing todo with this AFAIK.Since you are "casting" the spell off the scroll, I can see that Varisian Tattoo and Bloatmage would give +1's as you cast the spell at +! CL and are Making a CL check.
So unless anyone else can fill in the blanks about CL and those feats for me, I'd say you're looking at +3 vs DC 6 (1 level, 1 tattoo, 1 bloatmage).
Sorry, yeah Spell Focus was just mentioned because its what determines what school bloatmage works for. Your reasoning seems good, thanks for the help.

![]() |

Might be useful to link to these feats.
Benefit: Pick one spell when you choose this trait. Whenever you cast that spell, its effects manifest at +1 caster level.
Benefit: Select a school of magic (other than divination) in which you have Spell Focus—you cast spells from this school at +1 caster level.
Benefit: You learn the basics of the ancient art of hemotheurgy. Pick one school of magic in which you possess the Spell Focus feat—you cast spells from this school of magic at +1 caster level.
All of these say "when you cast that spell/spells of that school," not "you are considered +1 caster level for purposes of this spell/school." Activating a scroll is like casting a spell, but it is not the same thing, and the rules for scroll use refer to "activating a scroll," "casting a spell from a scroll". Since using a scroll is not casting a spell, this should have no effect on your caster level check. Your caster level check is at +1.
That said, that's very nit-picky and I can absolutely see a GM making a more favourable ruling, like SkyHaussmann's interpretation.

![]() |

The question is about the caster level check when trying to use a scroll when your not high enough level to cast the spell yourself.
Quite right. The thing is, when you use a scroll you aren't "casting" anything. That was my whole point. The casting of the spell is part of the scroll creation process and the caster level is set at the time of creation.
The feats you've listed all affect the casting of spells. When you use a scroll you aren't casting anything at all. You're using a spell completion item. The spell has already been cast and the effect determined before you ever got your hands on the scroll.
In short; +1 vs DC6.