Monster Natural Attacks & Strength Bonus


Rules Questions


Quick question (I hope). I'm making a back up character, who is going to be a synthesist summoner.

For primary natural attacks, do you add your strength bonus to attacks? ("To-Hit" as it were)

I know you use your base attack bonus on each and have a max show on the chart, just need to know about the strength thing if possible.

Thanks.


Yes, for all natural attacks you add your strength bonus to the attack roll.

Exception: Creatures with Weapon Finesse and many tiny or smaller creatures may add dexterity to the attack roll.

- Gauss


Strength modifier is always added in when making a melee attack roll. It doesn't matter with what kind of melee weapon - manufactured or natural, primary or secondary.

(Unless you have Weapon Finesse, in which case you can use Dexterity modifier on attack rolls with some weapons instead of strength.)


Alright. Thanks everyone. Just wasn't sure because it didn't specifically mention it under natural attacks.

Thanks again.

Sovereign Court

Actually, if the monster only has one attack on that "limb" they add 1.5 Str. So bites are like a two-handed attack, while 2 claws or slams are like 1-handed weapons.


RtrnofdMax wrote:
Actually, if the monster only has one attack on that "limb" they add 1.5 Str. So bites are like a two-handed attack, while 2 claws or slams are like 1-handed weapons.

Only on damage, not on attack rolls. The OP was talking about attack rolls.


RtrnotdMax: 1 attack on that 'limb' is not the rule. The creature needs to have only 1 natural attack PERIOD in order to benefit from 1.5strength on that limb. If a creature has a bite and 2 claws then all 3 attacks are at x1 strength. If a creature has 1 slam then that attack is at x1.5strength.

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monster Natural Attacks & Strength Bonus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.