Clarification about rust monsters


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

My players will probably be encountering a few rust monsters tonight. I've never used one as a monster, so I want to make sure that I am using their Rust power correctly.

The description seems pretty clear. One hit and a failed reflex save and the item is broken. Two hits and failed reflex saves and it is destroyed. Is my understanding correct? Do magic weapons or armor get a bonus for being magical?


The magic item uses its saving throw (see CRB p459 under 'Damaging Magic Items') or the owners whichever is greater.

- Gauss

Dark Archive

Suppose that the player has a +1 keen longsword. The rust monster hits the sword twice with his antennae and the player fails both saves. The sword is destroyed. Is that the correct ruling?

Liberty's Edge

Yep. Ashes to ashes, mithral to dust.


MoFiddy: Yes, just remember to use the swords save if higher than the players. Keen has a caster level of 10 so the sword has a 2+10/2 = 2+5 = +7 save.

- Gauss

Dark Archive

Gauss wrote:

MoFiddy: Yes, just remember to use the swords save if higher than the players. Keen has a caster level of 10 so the sword has a 2+10/2 = 2+5 = +7 save.

- Gauss

Ahhh...good to know. Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification about rust monsters All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions