Gnome mounted charge with a lance


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

First off, this character is currently level 1 and in PFS.

I recently made a gnome cavalier (emissary archetype) that rides a wolf whilst charging with his lance, and I've run into a few problems/questions that I didn't even consider before building him.

1) Does a small-sized lance still have reach?

2) If it does have reach, do I hit first or does my mount?

3) If it does not have reach, then do I hit first or does my mount?

4) Also, if it does have reach and I have ride-by attack, does my mount ever need to attack at all or can I just charge at reach and keep going?

Thanks in advance.

Grand Lodge

1) Yes.

2) Depends if your mount has reach or not.

3) You do.

4) No need for him to attack.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks a bunch man!

Liberty's Edge

Your gnome has reach with a lance.

When charging, you hit with the lance. Without other feats or abilities, you then stop and your mount does not attack, being too far away.

You hit first, and then stop, because you hit first and a charge then ends.

If you have ride-by attack, you attack and then keep going. Your mount never attacks unless he also has an ability that allows doing so.

There is a link in my profile to the old 3.5 Rules of the Game articles for mounted combat. They largely carry over and provide a good foundation for mounted combat in PF.

Liberty's Edge

Thank you as well! Sorry that it has taken me so long to reply, I have been rather busy today.

I also have one last question, if this same mounted gnome wanted to be stealthy for a while (a long while or a little while) does he roll the check or does the mount? Or do both creatures roll the check?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gnome mounted charge with a lance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions