Gods, Magical crafting & Gold


Lost Omens Campaign Setting General Discussion


A read a little about gods, lesser, greater, their abilities etc.

it's written that gods can create various special magical items - but that it also have it's cost requirement!?

I mean does a god have to physically have 500,000 gold pieces, or so, to create some sort of greater magic item?
and let's say that he does - he's A GOD - can't he simply create some, or otherwise, use his godly senses to sense a gold deposit and retrieve it - or better yet - go to a plane where gold is as common as dirt, etc...

And if after all these, the conclusion is that he still need the gold, how does he suppose to get it?
does it 'being sacrificed' for him by his follower?

Grand Lodge

There is no rules for this.

This is all DM Fiat.


There are no rules for deities, but other beings on their levels do have feats, and in 3.5 they had feats, so if there are rules created for them they will work mostly like normal characters. The other things they can do such as create new races is mostly a matter of the author just saying it can happen or GM fiat.

Grand Lodge

The rules are for player characters. NPCs do whatever the GM wants to do, at least within context. Gods in particular are defined by this simple fact.

"Your rules don't apply to us."

If your player characters are all gods, then you're playing a game different enough from standard that you're on your own.

Grand Lodge

The lack of rules and stats for gods is purposeful.

None of this "god killing" in Pathfinder.


In Pathfinder, there are no rules (or even guidelines) to follow to answer this.

In 3.X D&D, however:

Quote:

Create Magic Items

A deity of rank 1 or higher can create magic items related to its portfolio without any requisite item creation feat, provided that the deity possesses all other prerequisites for the item. The maximum item value a deity can create is a function of its divine rank (see table). The item’s cost and creation time remain unchanged, but the deity is free to undertake any activity when not laboring on the item.

If a deity has the item creation feat pertaining to the item it wishes to create, the cost (in gold and XP) and creation times are halved

Gods still needed to spend gold (and experience points too).

Grand Lodge

This belongs in the Houserules or Conversion section.

Flagged.


Jeraa wrote:

In Pathfinder, there are no rules (or even guidelines) to follow to answer this.

In 3.X D&D, however:

Quote:

Create Magic Items

A deity of rank 1 or higher can create magic items related to its portfolio without any requisite item creation feat, provided that the deity possesses all other prerequisites for the item. The maximum item value a deity can create is a function of its divine rank (see table). The item’s cost and creation time remain unchanged, but the deity is free to undertake any activity when not laboring on the item.

If a deity has the item creation feat pertaining to the item it wishes to create, the cost (in gold and XP) and creation times are halved

Gods still needed to spend gold (and experience points too).

You're abaloutly right, I confused my 3.5e knowledge with Pathfinder....

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Lost Omens Campaign Setting / General Discussion / Gods, Magical crafting & Gold All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.