Help understanding staves


Rules Questions


The rules on staves seem oddly incomplete, so I have a few questions:

1) If a staff has several spells, one of which is on your spell list, and some of which are not on your spell list, can you cast any spell on the staff without a check, or do you need to make a UMD check when casting any spell on the staff which isn't on your list?

2) If a staff has several spells, one of which is on your spell list, and some of which are not on your spell list, can you recharge any spell on the staff by sacrificing a spell slot of the appropriate level, or can you only recharge the spells that are on your spell list?

3) If you have to make a UMD check to use a staff, is this a DC 20 check just like a wand, and if you fail there is no penalty? If you don't have the requisite ability score (for example, a druid with int 12 using a Staff of Conjuration to cast Cloudkill) do you also need to make an additional check to emulate the ability score? In this example, would you need a DC 30 UMD check (because Cloudkill is level 5 so you need a 15 int, and the DC is 15 + the necessary ability score?)

4) Is the DC of spells from staves that you cast that aren't from your spell list based on your class' ability score, or the ability score of the class whose spell list the spell is from? For example, if a druid with int 12 and wis 20 uses a staff to cast Cloudkill, is it DC 20 (10 + 5 (spell level) + 5 (wis mod)) or DC 16 (10 + 5 (spell level) + 1 (int mod))?

Sorry for all the questions, thanks in advance for any answers!

Grand Lodge

1) yes you need a UMD to use any spells on the staff not on your spell list.

2) staff charge is communal. There is no charge for each spell. Any spell the staff has can be used to recharge the staff.

3) it's spell trigger...like wands so it is the same check.

4) no, you do not need to meet the stat requirement. It is a spell trigger, not completion. Your DC however will b based on your rather low stat.


Cold Napalm wrote:

1) yes you need a UMD to use any spells on the staff not on your spell list.

2) staff charge is communal. There is no charge for each spell. Any spell the staff has can be used to recharge the staff.

3) it's spell trigger...like wands so it is the same check.

4) no, you do not need to meet the stat requirement. It is a spell trigger, not completion. Your DC however will b based on your rather low stat.

Right, except not completely clear on #2

"...the caster must forgo one prepared spell or spell slot of a level equal to the highest-level spell cast by the staff."

You don't need to know the highest level spell, but you do need to burn a spell level equal to it.

Grand Lodge

opps...yes. You need to know at least ONE of the spells in the staff...but you do use the spell slot of the highest level spell spell for recharging.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Help understanding staves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.