Casting while grappled


Rules Questions


My wizard is was caught in black tentacles and we are trying to determine the DC for my concentration check. I'm trying to cast dim. Door.

So it's (10 + CMB + 4th level spell).

We can all agree on that...

But the question is do we add a +5 the the black tentacles 25 CMD because the wizard is all ready grappled?


It states that the +5 is only for making grappling checks, not for determining CMB. Therefore, I would say that the +5 is only for making further grapple checks, like maintaining the grapple, and not applicable for the Concentration DC.


The +5 does not go to the CMD. It is only used to maintain the grapple which is what Odraude said.


You don't add the +5 (not like you are likely to make the check anyway, though - casting in a grapple is quite hard).

Note, though, that you don't use CMD to determine the concentration DC, just CMB. Still don't add the +5 though.


That's what we were thinking. Our argument being that since he was not trying to technically break the grapple the +5 to maintain the grapple wouldn't apply.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting while grappled All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.