Shatter vs. magical / masterwork double weapon: what happens?


Rules Questions


Okay, Sammy the Sorcerer (Sor 6) is suprised by the thug Ted the Two-Weapon Fighter. Teddy Bear is using a double weapon (let's say a . . . quarterstaff) that has one end as a +1 magic weapon and the second end is merely masterwork.

Sammy wins initiative and he casts shatter. What happens to the double weapon? Is it . . .

1. The masterwork end is destroyed if Ted fails his saving throw?

2. The entire weapon is destroyed if Ted fails his saving throw?

3. The double-weapon is one weapon and if part of it is magical the entire thing is magical, just no enhancement bonus on the second head?

4. An unholy vortex opens to the Abyss and swallows Sam, Teddy Bear, and the accursed quarterstaff?

Seriously, if one end is destroyed, how does that affect a quarterstaff? You can't club anyone with the destroyed end? Huh? I mean, shatter can't destroy the magical end, if it breaks the other part of the weapon is it even still a quarterstaff?

It gets easier for things like a double sword or double ax, where one weapon head can be destroyed, but for a quarterstaff you will have a length of wood that Teddy Bear can swing either end.

What are your thoughts?

MA


i would say It becomes a broken +1 club. but that follows more logic than game rules.


It's a quarterstaff and the other end is broken/destroyed, you would be unable to use the 'off' end if it for attacks until it was repaired/restored. For intents and purposes you would be unable to TWF with it as a double weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shatter vs. magical / masterwork double weapon: what happens? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions