Double move fly, run fly...


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Can a naturally flying creature double move in a straight line horizontally?

Dark Archive

Yes they can double move but they cannot run.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Why not, Matt?


Flying creatures can run. They exception is those who fly via the fly spell (and other spells and items based on it), since that spell specifically states you can't run when using it.

Liberty's Edge

Are is spot on. Sadly, PFRPG seems to have neglected to include the details of creature movement modes that 3.5 had. Perhaps they'll fix this, or at least FAQ this someday. See Movement Modes under Special Abilities in 3.5. "A creature can use the run action while flying, provided it flies in a straight line."


No need to specify - run does not restrict to land speed.

Are is correct.


Yeah, Pathfinder is shamefully vague when it comes to how basic movement types work. That needs an errata way more than "latest powerful martial ability", if you ask me. :P

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Double move fly, run fly... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.