| BiggDawg |
I have a question regarding the precedent set by the Necromancer's Athame in Ultimate Equipment (which is a great book). My question relates to the magic item creation rules, specifically the rules for creating new items. Under that section of the rules it says that you should always compare a potential new item to an existing item. My question is does the Necromancer's Athame set precedent for creating other types of specialist wizard magic items that function like the Necromancer's Athame, but for those other schools of magic?
Can someone create an Evoker's Athame, or a Summoner's Athame based on this item? What are other peoples thoughts on whether this is a good or bad thing?
Personally I think it is very powerful, not necessarily OP, but very powerful. It is only for specialist wizards and they have to have the bonded object arcane focus, which is a good option but has it's drawbacks as well. However at higher levels I can see this item being very potent as it allows a wizard to effective treat their specialty school as if they were a Sorceror.
I ask because I currently have two wizards in my Way of the Wicked campaign, one of whom is a Necromancer and the other is a Diviner. If I allow the Necromancer to make this item it will enhance his power as compared to the Diviner if I don't allow the Diviner to make one as well. My instinct is that if I allow the Necromancer to make one then I should allow the Diviner to make one as well in the interest of fairness and in support of the rules.
Thanks for your time, consideration, and any feedback.
PS - Does the wizard have to wield the Athame to use it? It is a slotless magic item and technically isn't a weapon, amulet, ring, staff or wand as required by the arcane bond class feature. So is it an example of specific trumping the general or because it states in the description that it is shaped like a dagger is it treated as such under the rules and therefore a weapon bonded item that must be wielded?