
KenB3 |
Okay, my D&D 3.5 DM said he needed a break one week of every month. I volunteered to DM provided I could run Pathfinder, which I figured would help introduce it to the group for future play. Even though I will not be GMing for a few more weeks I have already had many questions regarding what is allowed.
One player asked if he could play a Gunslinger. I am setting the campaign in Ptolus, where firearms exist, so I said yes. He asked if the gunslinger could be a Vanara. Odd combination, but the race doesn't seem overpowered, so sure. Then he asked if the vanara's prehensile tail could be used to reload. He said he knew it couldn't wield a weapon, but thought it could hold the gun while reloading with the other hand. This way he could fire with the right hand while holding the gun with the tail and loading with the left.
I did not anticipate this question. To some extent it seemed reasonable. However, it would make him significantly faster than a normal gunslinger. I also question the ambidexterity required in such an action, loading those old guns seems like it would be difficult to do while firing with another hand. Two weapon penalties should apply at the very least. What do you all think?

![]() |

So, here's the tail ability:
"•Prehensile Tail (Ex): All vanaras have long, flexible tails that they can use to carry objects. They cannot wield weapons with their tails, but the tails do allow them to retrieve small stowed objects carried on their persons as a swift action."
Kind of vaguely worded here, but I would probably say, there's still a certain amount of coverage for you here. Since they can retrieve items as a swift action, using the tail in this manner would only give them a full attack with a two handed weapon every other round, since they'd grab the gun as a swift action with their tail to reload first round, and then, since they're limited to one swift action per round, they wouldn't be able to retrieve the stowed gun (another swift action) until the next round. Trust me, there are worse ways to break the gunslinger.

![]() |

Speaking strictly from the rules. It takes a Standard Action, at minimum, to reload a firearm, unless they have the Rapid Reload feat. If they have the Rapid Reload feat then the minimum becomes a Move Action. Therefore the only prerequisite the tails helps with is the requirement for a free hand.
The tail would allow a Vanara to wield a melee weapon in their other hand and still be able to reload. Thus able to provide flanking, take AoOs, etc.

Skylancer4 |

It is most definitely reasonable, and as pointed the swift action is a decent foil. Two weapon fighting would only apply if trying to use 2 weapons at once during an attack when your BAB would only provide one attack (or more attacks than the BAB allows for). If the character had 2 pistols and a BAB of +6/+1, they could fire both and not suffer the penalties.