Cleric powers while raging


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Hello All:

I'm in the beginnings of running the RotRL campaign, and one of my players has a question about barbarian/ clerics. Can his use supernatural (SU) cleric powers while raging? Thanks in advance for the response.

Grand Lodge

Yep. Some of the Rage Powers are supernatural.

Sovereign Court

Cleric powers that are supernatural CAN be used while raging? I want to make sure I get this right.

Grand Lodge

Absolutely.

Shadow Lodge

I don't think you can. At least, not all of them

prd wrote:
While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration.

I think a lot (if not all) of the powers clerics get would fall into the bolded category. Channeling Diving energy is not a innate thing (except for oracles) and would require some level of patience and concentration.

Of course that is what Moment of Clarity is for :-p

Grand Lodge

From the Combat Rules Section:

Pathfinder Core Rulebook wrote:


Supernatural Abilities (Su)

Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Shadow Lodge

blackbloodtroll wrote:

From the Combat Rules Section:

Pathfinder Core Rulebook wrote:


Supernatural Abilities (Su)

Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

This is an excellent point which I missed. Thanks BlackBloodTroll. I am struggling with the patience part though. Does a Raging Barbarian have the presence of mind to pause and channel energy? Or to give his enemy a touch of misfortune? I doubt it as those things are not forwarding his desire to kill.

How ever patience is not defined by the rules. Consentracation is and supernatural abilites don't need it so the OBs player seems on solid ground. That being said if you(KnightDruid) think it will unbalance your game (or certain abilities would) you can Gm Fiat it that they take to much patience. You are GM and a lot of things are left undefined so you have room to run.

Grand Lodge

Rage is no where near as restrictive as you believe it to be.

It is restrictive though.


I agree with blackbloodtroll. The Supernatural abilities (like Domain powers)can still be used but spellcasting is out of the question.

Shadow Lodge

I don't see any reason why it isn't. According to RAW if it requires patience then the raging barbarian can't do it. And it is the GM's responsibility to adjudicate what requires patience.

Sovereign Court

Thanks guys, I appreciate the help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric powers while raging All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions