| OberonViking |
This is not for a Magus, and I realise Spell Strike allows me to do this. I'm heading for Eldritch Knight.
As a Wizard can I deliver a melee touch attack spell (such as Shocking Grasp) via my weapon including its enhancements to the attack roll, such as MW and Weapon Focus?
Can I also add the weapon and strength damage?
Can I deliver the melee touch spell as part of a Trip or Disarm attack with a flail?
If I take a 2H weapon such as a heavy flail as my Arcane Bond can I cast spells with a Somantic component? Does wielding a 2H weapon mean that I no longer have a free hand for casting a spell.
Morgen
|
Magi have an ability called Spellstrike that allows them to deliver touch spells via melee weapons. Without taking levels of Magus you could try delivering them with Unarmed strikes, but without the improved feat you'd be provoking attacks of opportunity for a very small amount of extra damage, and be swinging against AC versus Touch AC.
You can't be wielding a 2-handed weapon and cast spells with somatic components, unless your a moderately leveled Arcane Duelist (Bard Archetype that let's them use their arcane bonded weapon to make somatic components.)
You are allowed to take Weapon Focus (Touch Spells) as an aside.
| SuperUberGeek |
I disagree about wielding a two handed weapon and casting spell with a somatic component. You can release your grip on you weapon as a free action (at which point the weapon is not being wielded), cast your spell, then return take ahold of the weapon again as a free action and you are once more wielding the weapon and threaten for AoO.
| OberonViking |
Magi have an ability called Spellstrike that allows them to deliver touch spells via melee weapons. Without taking levels of Magus you could try delivering them with Unarmed strikes, but without the improved feat you'd be provoking attacks of opportunity for a very small amount of extra damage, and be swinging against AC versus Touch AC.
I thought that delivering Touch Attacks was considered armed, hand glowing blue and all that. Does it still provoke an AoO.
Also, I'd have a weapon in my other hand, probably a 1H flail...| OberonViking |
I disagree about wielding a two handed weapon and casting spell with a somatic component. You can release your grip on you weapon as a free action (at which point the weapon is not being wielded), cast your spell, then return take ahold of the weapon again as a free action and you are once more wielding the weapon and threaten for AoO.
How does that work with Arcane Bond? Suddenly I'm not wielding my Arcane Bond as I cast a spell... Ouch.
I think I'll go for a 1H weapon and attack with it using 2H most of the time.| Cid Ayrbourne |
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/magic-weapons#TOC-Conductive
Conductive: A conductive weapon is able to channel the energy of a spell-like or supernatural ability that relies on a melee or ranged touch attack to hit its target (such as from a cleric’s domain granted power, sorcerer’s bloodline power, oracle’s mystery revelation, or wizard’s arcane school power). When the wielder makes a successful attack of the appropriate type, he may choose to expend two uses of his magical ability to channel it through the weapon to the struck opponent, who takes the effects of the weapon attack and the special ability. (If the wielder has unlimited uses of a special ability, he may channel through the weapon every round.) For example, a paladin who strikes an undead opponent with her conductive greatsword can expend two uses of lay on hands ability (a supernatural melee touch attack) to deal greatsword damage and damage from one use of her lay on hands. This weapon property can only be used once per round, and only works with magical abilities of the same type as the weapon (melee or ranged).
Moderate necromancy; CL 8th; Craft Magic Arms and
Armor, spectral hand; Price +1 bonus.
| OberonViking |
You still have it in hand. Conductive is fun but does not work for spells.
Still in hand, good.
Conductive comes so close...I plan to use the flail to disarm and/or trip, and use my spells when the foe is not able to make AoO against me. That still works fine for the concept I have, I was just hoping to get weapon bonuses to the touch attacks without being a Magus. Taking 1 level of Fighter and Eldritch Knight means I end up with a 3/4 BAB and full Wizard spell-casting less two levels.
Morgen
|
I thought that delivering Touch Attacks was considered armed, hand glowing blue and all that. Does it still provoke an AoO.
Also, I'd have a weapon in my other hand, probably a 1H flail...
Correct, delivering a touch spell normally doesn't draw an Attack Of Opportunity. However if you decide to deliver the spell with an unarmed strike rather then making a melee touch attack, if you don't have Improved Unarmed Strike then that causes the AOO.
Need a hand free to cast somatic spells, you can do what you please with the other hand.
| OberonViking |
Correct, delivering a touch spell normally doesn't draw an Attack Of Opportunity. However if you decide to deliver the spell with an unarmed strike rather then making a melee touch attack, if you don't have Improved Unarmed Strike then that causes the AOO.
Need a hand free to cast somatic spells, you can do what you please with the other hand.
Ahhhh, that clarifies my confusion. Thanks.
I'm now leaning towards Magus, with a Trip/Daze combo to get through the lower levels, Hold Person/Monster at higher levels. It's for PFS play, and I don't get to sessions very often, so low level fun is most important.
Diego Rossi
|
You still have it in hand.
If you mean the 2 handed weapon as a focus item, having it in one hand isn't sufficient. You need to wield i (i.e., have it ready for use), not simply have it in your hand. That is why staffs aren't a good bounded item unless you take the appropriate archetype.
Wielding means "actively trying to use the item," and is normally only used in the context of weapons or weapon-like objects such as rods, wands, and so on.
Otherwise, it's just an item you're holding/carrying.
And if you're not holding/carrying/bearing it, you're probably wearing it, or it's stowed in a sheath or backpack.
And if you're not wielding, holding/carrying/bearing, or wearing the item, it's probably unattended.
If you're wielding a sword, you're trying to hit people with it.
If you're holding or carrying a sword, you just have it on your person, perhaps because your fighter buddy dropped it and you didn't want him to lose it.
You probably can't wear a sword.
If you're not wielding the sword, holding/carrying/bearing the sword, or wearing the sword, it's on the ground.
Captain Sir Hexen Ineptus wrote:Question tough, what does that mean for wizards that chose to a weapon or two handed weapon even, as their arcane bound item?It means "obviously you can't wield the weapon and cast a spell in the same round, so we'll change the text in the arcane bond section so it says 'held in hand' rather than 'wielded.'" :)
Someday we will see the errata SKR suggested in November 2011 and and this problem will be overcome.
| Bobson |
SuperUberGeek wrote:You still have it in hand. Conductive is fun but does not work for spells.Still in hand, good.
Conductive comes so close...I plan to use the flail to disarm and/or trip, and use my spells when the foe is not able to make AoO against me. That still works fine for the concept I have, I was just hoping to get weapon bonuses to the touch attacks without being a Magus. Taking 1 level of Fighter and Eldritch Knight means I end up with a 3/4 BAB and full Wizard spell-casting less two levels.
Keep in mind that prone foes can still take AoO's, just with the -4 penalty for being prone. Disarmed foes can still take AoO's if they have natural weapons or Improved Unarmed Strike.
It's not a bad idea, just be wary.
| OberonViking |
Keep in mind that prone foes can still take AoO's, just with the -4 penalty for being prone. Disarmed foes can still take AoO's if they have natural weapons or Improved Unarmed Strike.
It's not a bad idea, just be wary.
Yeah, I think this is a good build for low levels. I'm not sure how useful Trip or Disarm will be at mid- and high-levels. Then I'm not sure how useful that Magus will be in combat...