Question about the basics...


Rules Questions


I must be getting old (and forgetful, lol)...

About the combat maneuver TRIP: It says you can replace and attack (or all attacks, I imagine) with trips.

Say you decide to do so; If you had three attacks and instead decide to trip three times, does your CBM drop by 5 for every trip you attempt as would attacks (i.e.: CBM regular/-5/-10), would it be full CBM for all three trips.

Help an old man out, would ya... lol

Ultraconfused


Actually, I had to look this up myself not too long ago when making a Sunder-based character. When a Maneuver replaces an attack, it takes all the penalties or bonuses the attack would have. The only difference is that the base is your CMB instead of BAB.

If you were to make three attacks, each after the first takes a -5/-10. Also, if you use Power Attack or Combat Expertise on this round, your maneuvers also take that penalty. Inversely, if you have Weapon Focus, you would get to add that. If you doubt any of this, I have included a quote from the SRD under Manuevers for you.

Pathfinder SRD:

When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver. The DC of this maneuver is your target's Combat Maneuver Defense. Combat maneuvers are attack rolls, so you must roll for concealment and take any other penalties that would normally apply to an attack roll.

Happy Tripping!


Thanks Shalmdi! That pretty much clears things up for me...

Ultradan

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Shalmdi wrote:
Inversely, if you have Weapon Focus, you would get to add that. If you doubt any of this, I have included a quote from the SRD under Manuevers for you.

Note the sentence right after the first one you bolded, stating that to add such a bonus, it must be applicable to the situation. Not every maneuver uses a weapon, so not every maneuver will benefit from Weapon Focus (or your weapon's enhancement bonus, or Fighter Weapon Training, etc).

Disarm, sunder and trip use a weapon by default (and unarmed strikes count as a weapon for this purpose). A weapon with the trip quality can be used to deliver a drag or reposition maneuver. Otherwise, maneuvers don't use weapons (even unarmed strike) and don't gain weapon-specific bonuses. More universal bonuses, however (such as Inspire Courage or bless) will apply to all maneuvers.

See this blog.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about the basics... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions