Quick question regarding Crane style


Rules Questions


Can you use it or any other style feats if you are using a weapon like say a greatsword? Some seem to call out unarmed strikes, some do not.

Dark Archive

As long as it doesn't specifically say you need a hand free, you can wield whatever you like. I don't think Crane Style even forces the riposte to be with an unarmed strike.

EDIT: Crane Wing requires you to have a hand free. Go with a longsword or falcata instead.


That is how I was reading it. Some of the other styles call out unarmed strike, but the crane tree doesn't seem to.


It has been argued that as it is a free action to grasp or release with the free hand, you could take a one-handed weapon and use it two handed on your turn, then use it one-handed with Crane Wing active when not your action (you can then Ripost with the weapon one-handed).

I think it's against the spirit of Crane Style myself, but it is legal-by-RAW.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quick question regarding Crane style All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions