Area of effect spells and enemies inside things


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

a wizard wants to cast dispel magic on an alter. this alter happens to have a gaseous form vampire hidden inside it who flew into it via a small hole. will dispel magic effect the vampire?


Since dispel magic has a target of "one spellcaster, creature, or object", if the wizard targeted the altar he would affect only the altar, regardless of the presence of a vampire. If the vampire were totally within the altar, he wouldn't have line of sight to target the vampire. However, greater dispel magic, used in the "area dispel" mode, would affect the vampire.

Grand Lodge

actually i just found the relevant rule. gaseous spell is a supernatural ability of the vampire, which means it wont work...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Area of effect spells and enemies inside things All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions