Spell Concentration and Walking


Rules Questions


My question is, can someone concentrate on a spell while walking? The specific example is the spell Permanent Image which has neither verbal nor somatic components, and can be moved if concentrated on.Could someone walk, while also moving the created image? Concentration is listed as a standard action and I am not sure if some standard actions are allowed to be taken while walking. Any help would be appreciated.


Every round, you get a standard and a move action. If you couldn't move while concentrating, concentration would be a full-round action.


All standard actions are compatible with all move actions, unless they explicitly say otherwise. Neither is compatible with a full-round action.

So you could stand up from prone, walk over to a door, open it, go through, close it, pick up your spellbook from the floor, put it in your backpack, draw your crossbow, load it, and get on a horse, all while maintaining your concentration. It would take you twice as long to do that sequence as someone who wasn't concentrating, because you would be only doing one of those each round, while the other guy could do two (one with his move action, one by swapping his standard action for a second move action). But unless something happened to you that would force a concentration roll, there wouldn't be any issues.


Ok thank you I was a bit confused on the matter, now that I think about it I remember I already know it. Thanks again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Concentration and Walking All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.