Natural attacks


Rules Questions


Hello, i'm rolling a druid and was wondering just how natural attacks worked. I read through the rules and it just seems off, but the wording did get a little heavy. An example would be really nice on primary and secondary weapon use. When you do a full attack, say a bite and 2 claws. All primary. Do you take any negatives when you attack like this? as if attacking with two weapon fighting? do you have one primary and the other attacks become secondary? How does this work?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

It's nothing at all like two-weapon fighting. The intuitive way to read it is correct. With a full attack, all primary attacks are used at full BAB and all secodary ones at a penalty. At low levels this s crazy good. The downside is that you never get iterative attacks with natural weapons, so your routine never changes like weapon attacks do.


If all your natural attacks are primary, you don't take any penalties. The reference to two-weapon fighting in the CRB was an error.

If you attack with both manufactured weapons and natural attacks, all your natural attacks will count as secondary (even if they're normally primary), and are thus made at a -5 penalty.


Okay thanks, that answered the question.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Natural attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.