Summons in Surprise Round


Rules Questions


What happens if a summon monster is successfully brought into the fight during the surprise round? I don't mean if a summoner starts a full round action in the surprise round and then completes it later... I mean, what if an elemental gem is smashed as a standard action or a Quicken Spell is applied to a summon, and the summon is actually completed during the surprise round on the caster's surprise round turn.

Does the summon "go immediately" and get its full range of actions? Go immediately and get only a standard action? Not go until the caster's next normal turn?

Grand Lodge

It acts immediately when summoned. Since it is aware of the combat in a surprise round, it gets a standard action.


I'm with Starglim. It gets nothing more than a single standard action during the surprise round.


Standard action just like any other monster that acts on a surprise round.


Starglim wrote:
It acts immediately when summoned. Since it is aware of the combat in a surprise round, it gets a standard action.

This.

Just because it comes into play during the surprise round doesn't mean it gets any special treatment compared to the other subjects who can act in the surprise round. Since a surprise round normally only gives you a standard action, a standard action is all you get, no questions asked.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summons in Surprise Round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions