Double-Casting buff spells as Dispel Magic defense


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

SRD wrote:

Same Effect with Differing Results

The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.

One Effect Makes Another Irrelevant

Sometimes, one spell can render a later spell irrelevant. Both spells are still active, but one has rendered the other useless in some fashion.

Up against enemies with access to Dispel Magic. Want to keep critical buff spells in place. Based on the above passage in the magic rules (emphasis mine) I understand that if two spells with a similar, non-stacking effect are cast on the same target, both remain active. Casting the second spell does not dispel the first. The target only gains the benefit of a single casting of the spell, but if Dispel Magic is cast upon them it will only remove one copy of the buff spell, leaving the second copy active to retain the effect.

My understanding based on the first bolded portion is that the spells overlap (do not stack, do not extend duration, do not dispel) even if the exact same spell is cast twice. In this case, the target gains the above protection against having the buff dispelled with a single casting, but gains no other benefit from having two copies of the spell instead of one.

Can someone either confirm my interpretation or explain why it is incorrect?

Thanks in advance.


Yes it works, but its kind of a waste of spell slots unless a particular buff is needed for a plan.

Shadow Lodge

In this case, didn't want someone taking out Wind Walk mid-transformation and preventing a getaway. Since the getaway was of utmost importance, I felt it was worth taking both my highest-level spell slots to pre-cast the spell on the party twice.

DM had never seen it done before; I figured it's a rare tactic because usually it is a waste of spell slots, not that it was prohibited by Pathfinder rules.

Grand Lodge

if the dispeller is a sorcerer, you've got a problem.

Shadow Lodge

LazarX - Or has multiple copies of Dispel prepared, or a spare scroll, or uses Greater Dispel to wipe out many copies at once, yes. Again hence the "usually a waste of spell slots." But if in theory this works, that answers my question. Thanks to both of you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Double-Casting buff spells as Dispel Magic defense All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions