| setzer9999 |
Eagle CR 1/2
XP 200
N Small animal
Init +2; Senses low-light vision; Perception +10
Defense
AC 14, touch 13, flat-footed 12 (+2 Dex, +1 natural, +1 size)
hp 5 (1d8+1)
Fort +3, Ref +4, Will +2
Offense
Speed 10 ft., fly 80 ft. (average)
Melee 2 talons +3 (1d4), bite +3 (1d4)
Space 2-1/2 ft. Reach 0 ft.
Statistics
Str 10, Dex 15, Con 12, Int 2, Wis 15, Cha 7
Base Atk +0; CMB –1; CMD 11
Feats Weapon Finesse
Skills Fly +8, Perception +10; Racial Modifiers +8 Perception
Ecology
Environment temperate mountains
Organization solitary or pair
Treasure none
An Eagle has +0 BAB, +2 Dex Mod, and Weapon Finesse. This is all accurate, but then, it's melee attacks are listed as having a +3 attack roll. Am I missing something? I know, this is just a CR 1/2 creature, but I have a player summoning these repeatedly and so eventually I noticed something awry... I think.
| setzer9999 |
The real question is with a reach of 0' and being small and thus unable to enter most mediums sized creatures squares how does it attack at all.
Yeah, wow, this is a very easy one for me to just totally ignore when GMing, as that is completely ridiculous! I didn't notice that either, thanks for retracting yet more of my sanity! :P
Eagles don't appear to be the only Small creatures with 0 reach either. Found other examples in the Bestiary... am I/are we all missing something on that front?
Happler
|
Rathendar wrote:Size small creatures have a 5' threatened area just like mediums. Tiny is where it becomes a 0.What does "Reach 0ft." in the stat blocks for all these Small monsters mean in that case?
I do not see reach 0ft listed in the official PRD, where are you pulling your info?
| Kain Darkwind |
It was probably an errata fix.
But in general, a 0 reach means the critter provokes an AoO when it makes an attack because it basically has to move into the targets square.
The issue, Rath, is that Small creatures with reach 0ft. cannot enter the square of a Medium unallied creature, and thus cannot attack.
Which is why Small creatures have a reach of 5 ft.
| Rathendar |
Rathendar wrote:It was probably an errata fix.
But in general, a 0 reach means the critter provokes an AoO when it makes an attack because it basically has to move into the targets square.
The issue, Rath, is that Small creatures with reach 0ft. cannot enter the square of a Medium unallied creature, and thus cannot attack.
Which is why Small creatures have a reach of 5 ft.
Yeah, i know. (thank you however, kain.) That catch-22 is most likely why it was errata removed. I was simply sharing with the OP what it meant for the creatures that did actually have it.