Incorporeal creatures larger than or equal to total wall thickness


Rules Questions


If an incorporeal creature is the same size or larger than the total thickness of the wall in square feet, can it then pass through that space? Or, if it is larger than the space available in the wall, is it the opposite, and it actually cannot hide in the wall at all?

---------------------

0 = open space/floor
x = wall
I = incorporeal creature (contigous "I"s are one creature larger than Medium)
H = wall space "I" is hiding inside of

---------------------

Example 1:
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx000x000xx
xx000xI00xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

Can "I" move here on its turn?

xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx000x000xx
xx00Ix000xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

---------------------

Example 2:
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx000xII0xx
xx000xII0xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

Can "I" move here on its turn?
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx0IIx000xx
xx0IIx000xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

---------------------

Example 3:
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx000xII0xx
xx000xII0xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

Can "I" hide inside the wall here? Or can I just not hide in the center wall at all in this case because "I" is too big to use that wall to hide in?

xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx00IH000xx
xx00IH000xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

edit: The formatting of the diagrams is skewed by the font once its actually posted... copy/paste into a text editor or a response input field to see it a little better...


Bump.


Bump. I don't know if this is uninteresting or just stumping people, but I sure am stumped still...


setzer9999 wrote:

If an incorporeal creature is the same size or larger than the total thickness of the wall in square feet, can it then pass through that space? Or, if it is larger than the space available in the wall, is it the opposite, and it actually cannot hide in the wall at all?

---------------------

0 = open space/floor
x = wall
I = incorporeal creature (contigous "I"s are one creature larger than Medium)
H = wall space "I" is hiding inside of

---------------------

Example 1:
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx000x000xx
xx000xI00xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

Can "I" move here on its turn?

xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx000x000xx
xx00Ix000xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
--------------------

Yes

--------------
setzer9999 wrote:


Example 2:
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx000xII0xx
xx000xII0xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

Can "I" move here on its turn?
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx0IIx000xx
xx0IIx000xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

Yes

---------------------
Example 3:
setzer9999 wrote:


xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx000xII0xx
xx000xII0xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

Can "I" hide inside the wall here? Or can I just not hide in the center wall at all in this case because "I" is too big to use that wall to hide in?

xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xx000x000xx
xx00IH000xx
xx00IH000xx
xx000x000xx
xxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxx

Yes..

Squeezing:
Squeezing: In some cases, you may have to squeeze

into or through an area that isn’t as wide as the space you
take up. You can squeeze through or into a space that is at
least half as wide as your normal space. Each move into or
through a narrow space counts as if it were 2 squares, and
while squeezed in a narrow space, you take a –4 penalty on
attack rolls and a –4 penalty to AC.
When a Large creature (which normally takes up 4
squares) squeezes into a space that’s 1 square wide, the
creature’s miniature figure occupies 2 squares, centered
on the line between the 2 squares. For a bigger creature,
center the creature likewise in the area it squeezes into.
A creature can squeeze past a creature while moving but
it can’t end its movement in an occupied square.To squeeze through or into a space less than half your
space’s width, you must use the Escape Artist skill. You
can’t attack while using Escape Artist to squeeze through
or into a narrow space, you take a –4 penalty to AC, and you
lose any Dexterity bonus to AC.

Grand Lodge

Your use of "square feet" confuses me.

If the creature's fighting space is as wide as at least part of the wall is thick, it doesn't have to lose contact with the surface at any point and thus can pass through. A narrow crack through a thick wall might have to be 1 foot wide to count, though that's getting into broader interpretation.

It can stand partly within a wall, projecting out one side. It might want to do so to take advantage of a 5 foot step in one way or another.

Matter that it can pass through never forces it to squeeze, as far as I can see, but it could squeeze voluntarily to fit its 10' wide space inside a 5' wide wall.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Incorporeal creatures larger than or equal to total wall thickness All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions