How do damaging Bloodline Arcana interact with consumables?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Hey rules forum, couple questions.

Take a sorcerer who has a bloodline that grants bonus damage, IE Orc (+1 point of damage per dice rolled on hit point damaging spells).

If this sorcerer casts a spell from a wand, does this bonus apply? I lean towards no, because the wand is the one casting the spell and has its own caster level. The sorcerer is merely activating it, as with all spell trigger items.

If this sorcerer casts a spell from a scroll, does this bonus apply? I'm on the fence for this one. Activating a scroll is something that only somebody who can actually cast the spell can do (barring UMD for the purpose of this discussion), so it's more like actually casting. I still lean towards no.

If this sorcerer acquires a spell-storing weapon and stores a spell in it, does this bonus apply? I say yes, because the sorcerer actually cast that spell, all relevant bonuses should work just fine.

Now, what if the sorcerer casts his spell into the spell-storing weapon and hands it to someone else? Do they get the benefits of the bloodline damage bonus? I say yes again, because the sorcerer actually cast the spell.

More troublesome for me is item creation. Say this sorcerer crafts a wand or scroll of a damaging spell. Does his bloodline damage bonus apply to spells cast from those items when he uses it? When somebody else uses it?


In general class abilities and feat effects don't affect produced from items unless the ability, feat or item states otherwise (for example Cypher Magic feat increase CL of scrolls used and all staves have specific rule of using higher of their own and the wielder's CL).

When one creates items it does not benefit from his class or race abilities unless the description of the item states otherwise.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How do damaging Bloodline Arcana interact with consumables? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.