Help! Just a simple question


Rules Questions


Hi, I`m about to start a my first PF campaign. I`ve played a lot of 3.5 so I know a lot of the rules already.

My question is regarding something on page 179 in the core book. It says that when wielding a weapon in two hands you add 1 - 1/2 your strength bonus.

Does this mean half your strength bonus? Why didn`t they just write 1/2 your strength?

Thanks a lot

Sovereign Court

It's 1.5 of your strength bonus. So if you had a +4 str bonus, your damage would now have a +6


It means you add 1.5 times your Strength bonus. It's the same rule from 3.5


Ok thanks :) but seriously, what an unnecessary way of writing it. :P

Might as well say that each round last 8-2 seconds.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
Rodogaar wrote:

Ok thanks :) but seriously, what an unnecessary way of writing it. :P

Might as well say that each round last 8-2 seconds.

I don't think you've understood what is being said.

That is a dash separator, not a minus sign.

The rule "Add 1 - 1/2 your strength bonus" should be read as one and one half [times] your strength bonus, not (one minus one half) times your strength bonus.


Hahaha :D Ah geez. That`s what i get for studying math. Oh well.
Thanks a lot :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Help! Just a simple question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions