Earthglide through an Earth Elemental


Rules Questions


Earthglide allows you to move through rock, stone, dirt and EARTH like a fish through water. An Earth Elemental is made of EARTH. Does earthglide therefore allow you to move through an Earth Elemental? Presumably you couldn't move through an Earth Elemental with the purpose of harming it, but could you move through it just to get from here to there if it was in the way? Or could you move through it when it tried to attack you?

Scarab Sages

I think the rules regarding entering or moving through a hostile creatures space would apply here, which normally wouldn't allow you to:
From the PRD
"Opponent: You can't move through a square occupied by an opponent unless the opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a helpless opponent without penalty. Some creatures, particularly very large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases, each square you move through counts as 2 squares."
So, if the earth Elemental were helpless, go for it. Otherwise, no.


but what if the elemental wasn't 'hostile' - and instead had been summoned by me or a member of my party?

Scarab Sages

Nutson wrote:
but what if the elemental wasn't 'hostile' - and instead had been summoned by me or a member of my party?

Then you wouldn't need Earthglide at all:

From the PRD Movement section-
Friend: You can move through a square occupied by a friendly character, unless you are charging. When you move through a square occupied by a friendly character, that character doesn't provide you with cover.


Okay, so that covers "moving through" but what about actually occupying the same space. Suppose at the end of your turn you want to occupy the same space as the friendly earth elemental? This something that you can't normally do.


How about earthgliding into an elemental then letting it carry you around while you nap?


1. Summon earth elemental.
2. Earthglide into it.
3. Kick butt with your new Battlesuit!

Scarab Sages

Hitchcock wrote:

Okay, so that covers "moving through" but what about actually occupying the same space. Suppose at the end of your turn you want to occupy the same space as the friendly earth elemental? This something that you can't normally do.

I would say, RAW, you can't do this since you can't normally end your turn occupying another creature's space. HOWEVER, if I were DMing, I'd probably allow it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The argument is very simple. An Earth Elemental is not earth. It is far more than that. Earthglide allows for you to move through earth...not elementals.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Earthglide through an Earth Elemental All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.