Changing target within a single round


Rules Questions


Hello guys,
If I have several attacks in a single round, can I use one against one foe, the second against another?
I'm not sure where to find the ruling, though I'm pretty sure you can't, since that was the use of cleave in 3e. Googling for it is not easy, since the words are so common.
Thanks for the help!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can target anything in your reach. You don't have to attack the same target with all your iterative attacks per round.

Cleave didn't let you change targets, you could do that already. It gave you a free attack outside your normal limit, just restricted to a different target than the one you hit to trigger the cleave.


Yes.

You can even 5 foot step between your full attacks (once per round/) to reach a new victim


Thanks for the lightning fast reply guys, I posted before our snack break, and I have the answer for the second part of our game session!


It's also worth noting that you can declare you are making an attack action, make your first attack (at highest BAB), THEN decide you will full attack, getting all the iterative attacks you can. You can decide which target each attack will hit using these, and at any point (before you start, in between any of the attacks, or after you finish) you can take a 5 ft. step.

Using TWF or Flurry or anything like that does not necessarily work the same as that, though, as those actions are declared before you make the first attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Changing target within a single round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions