Arcane pool- Multiple uses for multiple abilities


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

The magus' Arcane Pool ability allows a magus to either give a weapon an enhancement bonus, or to give it various special abilities. The power says that multiple uses do not stack; does this refer only to the enhancement bonus? Could a magus give his weapon the Flaming Burst property in round 1, then add on the Frost Burst property in round 2?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Sober Caydenite wrote:
The magus' Arcane Pool ability allows a magus to either give a weapon an enhancement bonus, or to give it various special abilities. The power says that multiple uses do not stack; does this refer only to the enhancement bonus? Could a magus give his weapon the Flaming Burst property in round 1, then add on the Frost Burst property in round 2?

No. It explicitly stats that "A magus can only enhance one weapon in this way at one time. If he uses this ability again, the first use immediately ends" on the last line of the arcane pool ability description.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
Sober Caydenite wrote:
The magus' Arcane Pool ability allows a magus to either give a weapon an enhancement bonus, or to give it various special abilities. The power says that multiple uses do not stack; does this refer only to the enhancement bonus? Could a magus give his weapon the Flaming Burst property in round 1, then add on the Frost Burst property in round 2?

The description of arcane pool says that duplicates do not stack. That's a very deliberate choice of words, so it looks to me as though both RAW and RAI support adding multiple different special abilities. Note, too, that you are explicitly required to add a +1 enhancement, if needed, before adding any special ability, so the ability to add multiple bonuses is not only permitted - it's required.

Silver Crusade

Maezer wrote:
Sober Caydenite wrote:
The magus' Arcane Pool ability allows a magus to either give a weapon an enhancement bonus, or to give it various special abilities. The power says that multiple uses do not stack; does this refer only to the enhancement bonus? Could a magus give his weapon the Flaming Burst property in round 1, then add on the Frost Burst property in round 2?
No. It explicitly stats that "A magus can only enhance one weapon in this way at one time. If he uses this ability again, the first use immediately ends" on the last line of the arcane pool ability description.

That settles that. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane pool- Multiple uses for multiple abilities All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.