White-Haired Witch and grappling


Rules Questions


pfsrd wrote:

White Hair (Su)

At 1st level, a white-haired witch gains the ability to use her hair as a weapon. This functions as a primary natural attack with a reach of 5 feet. The hair deals 1d4 points of damage (1d3 for a Small witch) plus the witch’s Intelligence modifier. In addition, whenever the hair strikes a foe, the witch can attempt to grapple that foe with her hair as a free action* without provoking an attack of opportunity, using her Intelligence modifier in place of her Strength modifier when making the combat maneuver check. When a white-haired witch grapples a foe in this way, she does not gain the grappled condition.

So if the WHW attacks a target (normal ac) and hits, he does damage and gets to make a free (swift action) grapple that doesn't provoke an Aoo. My question is, if he forgoes the normal attack and just tries to grapple the target, does the "doesn't provoke an Aoo" still apply?


Looks like it.
However, I think the WHW gets reach 5ft every 4 levels. With reach you would still provoke technically but you would be to far away to be hit, but don't quote me on that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / White-Haired Witch and grappling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions