Dual quickened spells


Rules Questions


is it possible to cast two quickend spells in one round.
i know it says you can cast another spell but can you cast another quickend? I'm not looking to get a third spell, thats a no. I'm looking at the no AoO for quickend spells.
So, if I cast say a Quickend shocking grasp can I use another quickend shocking grasp as my secound spell and still not get the attack of opportunity?

Grand Lodge

Quickened spells are swift actions. You only get one swift action per turn.

The Exchange

Since this is the rules forum, the RAW answer is no. Only one swift action per turn. In the advice forum the answer is "it depends on your GM." A lot of GMs will allow you to take some swift actions (especially casting a quickened spell) instead of a standard action.


thanks, I'll have to cast one before I get into combat regularly and then cast the quickend one while in threat. Thanks again.

Owner - House of Books and Games LLC

Belafon wrote:
Since this is the rules forum, the RAW answer is no. Only one swift action per turn. In the advice forum the answer is "it depends on your GM." A lot of GMs will allow you to take some swift actions (especially casting a quickened spell) instead of a standard action.

Why would you cast a quickened spell instead of a standard action? Why not just cast a normal spell?

Note that I've never run across a GM that would let someone cast a quickened spell in place of a move action ... and rightfully so in my opinion, as it would seem to go against the intent of Quicken Spell to allow a caster to toss off three spells/round.

Grand Lodge

Like 3.5 wizards polymorphed into Chokers?
No, that mess is gone.


gbonehead wrote:
Belafon wrote:
Since this is the rules forum, the RAW answer is no. Only one swift action per turn. In the advice forum the answer is "it depends on your GM." A lot of GMs will allow you to take some swift actions (especially casting a quickened spell) instead of a standard action.
Why would you cast a quickened spell instead of a standard action? Why not just cast a normal spell?

Someone might want to cast quickened spell as a standard action because he is out of non-quickened spells. Or he just have to use spell he prepared as a quickened spell.

Personally I'd allow character to cast spell prepared as quickened at its normal casting time (effectively allowing prepared spell to be cast without benefit of metamagic spell applied).


I found it in the core rule book where it says no two quickend spells in the same round.


The fact that you only have one swift action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dual quickened spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.