spell recall question


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

for the magus to use spell recall they must spend an amount of arcane pool equal to the spell the want to recover. What if the spell had a meta-magic feat on it? Say an empowered shocking grasp, is that 3 or 1 ap that needs to be spent to recover the spell? The spell is level one but it's using a level 3 slot.
I think that it would be three, even tho the spells actual level is only one.
Or am I wrong and it doesn't matter what spell slot is taken up and you only have to spend one ap.
And if the spell had no meta-magic feat but just was taking up a level 3 slot but was a level 3 spell, how many points would you have to spend to recall it?


I marked this as FAQ material, because these are both very good questions.

For the first one, I'd say you'd pay three points, as the spell is technically a third level spell and you're recalling it as such. The second one is the same, since it's occupying a third level spell slot, it costs three points, regardless of the spell's normal level.


I would say that spell recall is referring to the "effective" spell level, so an empowered shocking grasp would cost 3 points to recall.

However, the cost is based on spell level not on slot, a level 1 spell prepared in a level 3 slot is still has an effective level of 1, so it should cost only 1 point.

Pearls of power have a similar wording, so they also work the same way.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / spell recall question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.