Oracle and Ancestral Weapon


Rules Questions


hi, im new to the board and relativly new to D&D, PF games.

i like the oracle so far but i have a questions wich none of my friends can answer.

here it is: if i am oracle and i go with ancestral or metal mystery, they both give an "ancestral weapon". if i decide to use a bow, does the bow use all my streght for damage ? how does it works ?

thanks for reply

Dark Archive

You'd choose a Composite Longbow with a matching str modifier.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Undying wrote:

hi, im new to the board and relativly new to D&D, PF games.

i like the oracle so far but i have a questions wich none of my friends can answer.

here it is: if i am oracle and i go with ancestral or metal mystery, they both give an "ancestral weapon". if i decide to use a bow, does the bow use all my streght for damage ? how does it works ?

thanks for reply

For a more complete answer, bows do not normally get any bonus to damage (though if you have a STR penalty, it applies). Composite bows, however, are built with a certain numerical STR rating (the exact rating factors into determining the price). You can an amount of your STR bonus to damage rolls up to the STR rating of the composite bow. If your STR bonus is higher, the extra has no effect; you stop at the bow's STR rating. If your STR bonus is lower than the bow's STR rating, you take penalties to your attack.

See the full description of composite bows in the Core Rulebook, or here.


plz read my post carefuly, im talking about a "revelation" that create a martial weapon 1min/level with the ancestral "mystery" from "oracle" class. i wanna kno if i can add my STR to damage with that "revelation"
its not clear in the description ( ultimate magic book in the oracle section )

Grand Lodge

Yep, just like any other composite longbow. You can choose the strength rating upon summoning.


Yes, you can summon a Longbow +2 with it for example.

However since it's a "weapon from your family's history", can you decide once your Strength raises to 16 to now summon a Longbow +3 ?


I'd go with you can choose a composite longbow +x as your weapon. But, you can't change it if your strength goes up. So, if at first level you have a +2 from str, and choose a composite longbow +2 as your weapon, you're stuck with it if you eventually get a +3 or +4.


is there a way to know officialy wtf it do ? cuz it seems to be GM "discretion" at this point.

Scarab Sages

Undying: You've gotten 4 direct answers, though I disagree with Rocky's interpretation. We can't be much more direct than that, and I don't know where you're getting "GM discretion" from 4 direct answers.

A composite longbow can be made in such a way that it adds your strength modifier to damage rolls (see Jiggy's link). This means that you can summon a bow with Ancestral Weapon that allows you to add your strength modifier to the damage rolls, as this is not a magical quality, but a mundane one.

@Quatar & Rocky: You can just choose a different weapon from your family's history that was a composite longbow with a higher strength rating than your previous one. There is no limit to the number of weapons available to you via your family history, so you could have pretty much any weapon you want.

*Edit: Added an additional link to the PFSRD specifically talking about composite longbows.


The language is open. It says 'a weapon from your ancestry' which is only as restrictive as 'a sock from your sock drawer' it seems, given the wording that is used, that you could not only retrieve different bows, you could retrieve a bow, then a sword, then an axe, so long as you didn't exceed time per day uses.

I only glanced through, but I didn't see where they said, 'this weapon, once chosen, can't be changed.' Gamemakers aren't shy about using that sort of language, if it isn't there, sky's the limit.


Ancestral Weapon lets you summon any simple or martial weapon. You can choose what weapon each time you use the revelation; nothing about its text says that you must choose a particular weapon upon gaining the revelation and are limited to that single weapon choice.

This is treated just like a normal weapon of its type, so you add any Str/Dex modifier as appropriate to using that weapon. A longsword summoned by Ancestral Weapon is no different than a longsword purchased as equipment.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracle and Ancestral Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions