| Selgard |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Readying an Action: from the PRD
You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.
Initiative Consequences of Readying: Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the readied action. If you come to your next action and have not yet performed your readied action, you don't get to take the readied action (though you can ready the same action again). If you take your readied action in the next round, before your regular turn comes up, your initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle, and you do not get your regular action that round.
This came up in another thread and didn't wanna risk derailing it.
Can you ready an action to move if someone comes up and attacks you?
If you can- what are the ramifications for the attacker?
The rule says:
"Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action."
So
Archer Andy readies a move action vs Bob the Barbarian taking a swing at him.
Bob does a single move up to Andy and takes a swing.
Andy steps back.
Bob.. does what?
can Bob finish his move (assuming he has movement left to get in range of Andy) and take a swing anyway?
Is Bob stuck where he's at, unable to do anything else since he was interrupted by the readied action?
Can Andy even ready an action vs getting attacked- or can he only do it vs getting closed in on?
(I don't see any rule against it- but thought I'd throw it out there anyway)
How does this play out?
-S
| Talonhawke |
I say you can of course and while at lower levels this could come in handy by level 6 your losing on two attacks or your spell for the turn just to play keep away. It should also be noted that your movement still provokes if its based on waiting til they are adjacent meaning Bob might still get a swing at you if you don't just 5ft step.
Also Bob is attack so he might have to change method. IE throwing something or activating his lunge feat but he might still have a way to attack.
| Selgard |
With Bob not capable of doing his action though- what are his new options?
1) anything he can do with the movement he has left?
2) attack if he can but if not stand there like a lump?
Since the "move" happens befor the attack the attack doesn't actually happen. couldn't he just.. move (up to the rest of his move) and swing anyway (assuming he could close the distance anyway)
-S
| AnarchialOne |
I had a similar situation come up in the Age of Worms AP and it set the precedent for our usage and understanding of this technique of avoiding attacks. It was during my character's time in the arena fighting for the Free City Belt, we had come up against some tough looking dwarves and my DM had set us up exactly 120ft apart, we rolled initiative which I won. I readied an action to attack the first dwarf that came near me, then the dwarves went. In preparation for the fight the dwarves had downed some potions of fly, so one of them comes soaring across the battlefield at me and when he gets up to me the DM gives me my readied action, I swipe across hitting the dwarf with my kukri then take a 5-ft step back, as per the rules of readying an action. My DM continues and says the dwarf rolls his attack, I stopped him and asked how he could attack me from 5ft away since he didn't have a reach weapon or anything. The DM frowns, looks at the map then says "ok, he continues his charge then attacks you." Again I stop him and ask how, "didn't he use all of his 120ft of movement to get to the square he can't reach me from?" The DM looks at the map again, frowns and says "You're right, you got me." I grinned mischievously and said "I know."
Now, all anecdotes aside, since Andy readied an action vs Bob taking a swing at him (yes, this is acceptable) and using your scenario of Bob taking his move action to get up to Andy, Andy just avoided the attack and Bob is left either swinging his weapon with no target in range to hit or if you're feeling generous with your descriptive flair holding up his swing as he realizes his target ran away from the impending attack. Bob can now continue with his standard action as normal (as per the rules of readying an action) but cannot simply continue his movement and attack since he's already used his move action for this round and had moved on to his standard action which he was using to attack when it was interrupted by Andy's readied action. Now, I wrote this rather matter-of-factly but only because it seems pretty cut and dried but I must admit this is only my interpretation of the scenario. But this is how I see it based on the rules and the set of circumstances you set forth.
| AnarchialOne |
I agree with Talonhawke also, Bob could definitely throw his weapon still, or if he had Quick Draw he could pull another weapon and finish his attack with it but otherwise he doesn't have another action to pull a weapon with and he isn't able to simply draw one on the move because he already finished his move for this round.
| Selgard |
I don't necessarily disagree- i'm just trying to get it all hammered out.
Since you interrupt the action before it happens then technically Bob hasn't stopped his movement yet.
If it were actions in tandem then bob runs up and andy runs back before bob stops moving so.. bob has the rest of his movement to go.
since its happening before he attacks (he effectively never attacks at all) wouldn't he automatically get to choose to use the rest of his movement?
It'd be like if he moved 20 feet, stopped for a moment, then chose to move the next 10 or do something else.
Since the RA happens before the actual action that spawns it- this seems like a valid way to go.
(similar to how you can't trip a prone person standing up.. because your trip happens before they try to stand, so effectively it never happens at all- a non action.)
-S
| AnarchialOne |
Once he moves on to his standard action to attack that's the action that's getting interrupted now, not the move action he used to get there, so his move action is already over for this round. Now if Andy had readied his action for Bob to move up to him then he could finish his move chasing Andy because it would be the move action that was interrupted, not the standard action Bob's using to attack.
| StreamOfTheSky |
I think you should be able to ready an action to move between when the foe stops and when he attacks. Of course, if he's within reach of you by this point, you'll provoke an AoO. But readying to stab him and then 5 ft step back (you can 5 ft step as part of a readied action if you have not moved on your turn) so you are out of reach before he can attack would be valid. I've used that very tactic many times. Never fails to piss off the NPC. :)
Diego Rossi
|
You can complete the attack, so if you can throw your weapon you can do that, or if you have quickdraw and a throwable weapon or a weapon with reach you can use that. You can't draw a weapon with the "free drawing during movement if you have BAB +1" rule as your movement has ended. For the same reason you can't move the extra feet to get in range and then attack, as your first move action has been used.
If there was another target in rage after the movement the attacker could easily change the target of his attack.
It would work very well against charging attackers as you can move laterally, negating their charge, and, as AnarchialOne said, you can ready an action to attack before the enemy and then do a 5' step.
As a houserule I would allow the attacker to convert his attack in a second move action but not in a standard action (substantially I would allow him to "do something", but he would have a less useful kind of action available) and only if the initial set of actions was move+attack, not if it was a full round action like a charge.
RAW a charge is a problem as: "Charge: Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action. Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you can move." so your readied action happen before he act, so before he start his charge. But if it happen before he charge you can't make a readied attack and so you wouldn't be interrupting his action, so he would be making the attack that will trigger the readied action that .... :P
I feel that a guy charging his committing himself heavily so so I would not allow him to convert hid attack to another action, but I would allow him to attack another target (without the charge bonus) if it was in range at the time of the readied action.
| Zamba Bone |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I found this thread when researching how to handle ready actions designed to interrupt spellcasting in melee and will address that below, but let me first respond to this thread:
When I ready an action with the condition "as soon as he reaches me", i.e. enters a square next to me, and then do my action and take a 5-foot-step, then in fact he hasn't entered a square adjacent to me, because my ready action takes place *before* the opponent's action. Thus, if I step back before he reaches me, he doesn't reach me, nullifying my condition. That is a logical contradiction, so I would rule here that my condition precludes movement on my part, barring me from taking a 5-foot-step.
Does that make sense to anyone? I also find it extremely difficult to picture how you hit a charging opponent AND move a square before he can hit you.
Now my original topic: A spellcaster can avoid provoking an AoO in melee by taking a 5-foot-step away from his opponent. It feels very unrealistic that you can cast freely (without AoO and ignoring damage caused from his turn's attack) when facing a raging barbarian right in front of you. However, you can still disrupt him by readying an attack. This is true, but since you cannot ready a full attack action you would get only one attack, which seems fair to me at the moment.
(I imagine that when you make a full attack you can't prevent him from backing away a little and cast before you can hit him, whereas if you make a single attack you can "pay attention" to what he does, follow up and hit him in a timely fashion to interrupt him.)
Furthermore, since you can move and then ready an action, you could move adjacent to him and "wait" till he acts. If he then takes a 5-foot-step I would allow you to follow up if you have movement left.
On a side note, I would advocate to allow several conditions, i.e. you don't have to say "if he casts a spell", or "if he attacks me in any way" or whatever. For me "when he does anything", or "as soon as he acts" is totally okay.