Questions about Jalmeray's Secret


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

So I acquired the trait "Secrets of the Impossible Kingdom (Jalmeray)" which states that you choose one spell when selecting the trait and you cast that spell at +1 caster level.

My question is one I feel ridiculous for asking because the answer is probably as simple as I think it is, but like my flight sergeant always tells me, "Its better to ask a dumb question and be right about the answer than to not ask it and be wrong."

Would this trait affect spells that state 'add +XDX amount of damage per caster level'? For example, Burning Hands does damage equal to 1d4/caster level to a maximum of 5D4. So say you're third level and you choose to use the trait with it, would you be doing 3d4 or 4d4 points of damage?

Again, sorry if the answer is simple, but many thanks to those who answer the question.


The answer is yes. In the example, the burning hands would deal 4d4 damage.


Note that you still can't exceed the spells damage cap, so your burning hands will still top out at 5d4 at 4th level. But if you're up against a foe with spell resistance, the level increase WILL apply to your spell penetration roll.

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I always thought the First Rule of Jalmeray's Secret was you do NOT talk about Jalmeray's Secret?


What kind of trait is this? And I mean type as in you know combat or magic.

Lantern Lodge

It's a magic trait listed in the Inner Sea Primer. I found it when I was reading through and that's when the question cropped up. Thank you very much for the responses. It's highly appreciated.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions about Jalmeray's Secret All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.