Xavier319
|
Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
The pathfinder savant has an ability called scroll master...
Scroll Master (Su)
A 3rd-level Pathfinder savant uses his own caster level instead of the item’s caster level when using a scroll or other spell completion item.
does using this ability increase the DC to UMD scrolls, or is this increase in caster level applied after you successfully activate it?
cartmanbeck
RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16
|
Xavier319 wrote:
I'm aware of that. but if you are using a scroll from another class, such as a wizard using a cleric scroll, would this ability increase the DC of the UMD check, since it's 20+caster level
I would say no. Here's why:
Scroll Master (Su):A 3rd-level Pathfinder savant uses his own caster level instead of the item’s caster level when using a scroll or other spell completion item.
If you fail the caster level check, you're not using the scroll, since it's not used up. So the way it's written, to me, suggests that you activate the scroll or wand, and then substitute your caster level after the activation.