Mounted Skirmisher + Mounted Blade + Ride-by Attack


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Am I reading these right? It seems to me that if, say, two (or more?) orcs are standing in adjacent squares as a 15th level fighter I could essentially move to and attack the first at +15, use mounted blade to attack the second at +10, then use my second attack at +10 on the first again, then mounted blade for another on the second at +5, and repeat with a +5 on the first and a +0 on the second. Am I crazy? Also, stack with cleave?


You can't use cleave in the same turn as you would use a charge. You don't have the standard action to spend on the cleave after charging.

As for the Mounted Blade feat itself, no, you cannot take multiple extra attacks.

Benefit: When you use the Ride-by Attack feat, if your attack hits, you may also make an attack against a target adjacent to your original target. This additional attack has a -5 penalty to the attack roll. You may use this feat whether riding a mount or using a flying item such as a broom of flying or carpet of flying.

Emphasis mine: all roads lead to the conclusion that it is a SINGLE attack, as those are all references to "a single attack" not "these multiple attacks". I'd never allow more than one extra attack due to this feat. That is clearly not the intent.


I'm a little rusty with mounted combat, but I'll give it a go as much for my own benefit as anything.

Let's see: Ride-by Attack gives you the option of charging with your attack during the move rather than at the end. Charging only gets you a single attack, not full iterative. That's one orc at +15. (I assume we're only quoting BAB and penalties. Remember that there's a +2 bonus for charging.)

Mounted Blade lets you add one extra attack to an adjacent target after hitting with a Ride-by Attack. So that's two orcs, one at +15 and one at +10. (Going by previous rulings such as RAGELANCEPOUNCE, I don't think there's a +2 bonus to the second attack.)

Mounted Skirmisher is a different thing entirely. It lets you full attack if your mount only moves its move speed, when normally you only get that option when you move 5 feet or less. This feat doesn't interact with the other two. If you want to hack three orcs, you can do it by moving at mount speed to within range of all three orcs (if possible), then full-attacking as normal (+15/+10/+5, no charge).

Did I get that right?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted Skirmisher + Mounted Blade + Ride-by Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions