
![]() |

I know this topic has come up, but when I searched through the threads, it wasn't explicitly spelled out to a point I was completely clear on. So here goes (starts praying thread doesn't blow up)...
Can an unarmed fighter have something in his hands and still perform an unarmed strike?
My confusion comes from under the monk class, it states specifically:
A monk's attacks may be with fist, elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk may make unarmed strikes with his hands full.Under the combat section when referencing an unarmed strike it states:
Striking for damage with punches, kicks, and head butts ...
The scenario I'm envisioning is the unarmed fighter has an object in one hand (alchemist fire, potion, gun, teddy bear, cookie, you name it) and an opponent engages him in melee. He doesn't want to ditch his item yet but instead chooses to attack his new opponent and goes for an unarmed strike.
They way I read it, I interpret it as something special for monks since it's stated specifically. But I could try to infer that an unarmed fighter could do it based on the combat section wording, which I don't know if that is a proper interpretation. I may be overthinking this one...

![]() |

Lobolusk |

Lobolusk wrote:Linkified!yes unarmed strikes are considered kicks, head buts strikes ect.. see my thread about slapping a man to death or "tonguing him to death" here:
http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz4z7x?Can-I-slap-you-to-death-or-kill-a-man-with -my#1
completely non sexually of course
thanks super lazy today

LearnTheRules |
It is stated in the rulebook, pg 182 that unarmed attacks may be with feet or headbutts, which is your second quote. A minority of people believe this to be flavour text but it is not. It was in the description for unarmed strikes in the equipment chapter of the 3.5 PHB, and was later moved to the combat chapter for pathfinder.
In short it's perfectly fine :P
The monk thing confuses people but really it's just to clear up the fact that the monk never considers unarmed strikes off-hand should he wish to use them in a FOB.