Misprint in Inner Sea Magic for Chelish Diva?


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Original thread:

http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz5o6a?Scathing-Tirade-Frightened-without-a-save# 4

Mort the Cleverly Named wrote:

Something in the class is misprinted. Prima Donna lists Scathing Tirade as one of the abilities that gets +2 to DC or Perform checks. Since it does not require a Perform check, one would then assume it was supposed to get a +2 to the DC (which does not exist). Alternatively, it may have required a Perform check once, as none of those other abilities require them making the Perform check part of Prima Donna pointless.

It probably should have a save. Frightened basically takes an enemy out of the fight for 1d4 rounds, and you can choose a new target every round. The 30' range might limit it, but I believe that is for selecting targets, not for the continuation of the effect.

Mort made a good point in my other thread regarding the lack of a save in the scathing tirade ability, which is a 1d4+1 round frighten effect on a single target within 30ft, can potentially affect another target as a free action, at levwel 8, at the cost of 1 round of bardic music.

Anyone know if this is indeed a misprint? Seems terribly overpowered otherwise...


The ability it replaces is shaken without a save, but on a whole group instead of just one enemy. It's only overpowered if you use single BBEG type encounters, but if you do that, lots of abilities classes have will wreck your encounter...

Again, I do think it should have the 24 hour limitation: once one's been affected by it and moves out of range or you redirect, you can't direct it back at him for 24 hours. That's how potent abilities like this are normally balanced.


StreamOfTheSky wrote:

The ability it replaces is shaken without a save, but on a whole group instead of just one enemy. It's only overpowered if you use single BBEG type encounters, but if you do that, lots of abilities classes have will wreck your encounter...

Again, I do think it should have the 24 hour limitation: once one's been affected by it and moves out of range or you redirect, you can't direct it back at him for 24 hours. That's how potent abilities like this are normally balanced.

Noted, although shaken is far less debilitating than frightened, and the ability it replaced specifically prohibited the use of it to cause the frightened status.

Also, the reason this is now a rules question is that, as Mort pointed out, there is some reason to believe it was intended to have a save.


On another note, am I right in thinking that the effect persists till 1d4 rounds after:

1. the CD stops performing, or
2. the CD and the target are more than 30ft apart, or
3. the CD shifts her focus to another target?

Essentially meaning that the CD can actually keep potentially at least 2 enemies perpetually fightened without save, or 4 enemies if she has the lingering performance feat, so long as they can't run more than 30ft away from her?

4 enemies frightened without save at any one point...does seem pretty broken?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

For reference, JJ gave a clarification here. Thanks JJ!

http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz2u4o&page=360?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Que stions-Here#17957

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Misprint in Inner Sea Magic for Chelish Diva? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions