Whirlwind Attack and the Magus


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Can a Magus(or anyone with a melee touch spell effect) use Whirlwind Attack with a touch spell?

If yes, Do all those hit suffer the effect, or would it be only the first one?

If the spell was Vampiric touch, would the magus just get what was rolled on the dice once, or damage rolled times the number of targets hit?

A Magus uses his Arcana Arcane Edge, which causes bleed damage to the one he hits, do all the targets hit by the whirlwind attack suffer the Bleed Damage?


Yes, first one, once, and only one (immediate action occurs after hitting a target).


Hmmm, I'm under the impression that "touch attacks" are their own standard action, rather than utilizing normal iterative rules. This would mean that a touch is inherently incompatible with WW.

However, you can deliver via UAS(or spellstrike) to accomplish what you're talking about.

The problems you will run into are
A) single charge spells are used up on the first successful hit
B) it seems like most multiple charge spells explicitly limit their discharge to once a round (there are a few that don't, but this may also be an oversight)

C) specifically commenting on vampiric touch - IF it worked the way you suggest, none of the temporary HP would actually stack; even from separate castings they don't stack, but overlap

To further clarify Arcane Edge...
An immediate action spends your next swift action.
You only get 1 swift per round, it can only affect 1 target.

Immediate Action

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Whirlwind Attack and the Magus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions