Rage (The Spell)


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

My search fu is weak, but I couldn't find anything, so I thought I'd ask.

I recently considered a CN cleric of Lamashtu with the Chaos Domain (Demon Subdomain) and the Strength Domain (Ferocity Subdomain), and both of the Subdomains grant the Rage spell as a 3rd level spell.

I realized that I didn't know much about it, and thought I'd better brush up on it. Everything looked fine, until I noticed the Concentration + 1 round/level duration, which kinda stinks, but is okay.

But then I noticed the targets, and realized that, but maintaining concentration, you can prevent enemy spellcasters from casting ANY spells as long as they are in medium range. Is this correct?

I mean, the spell is kinda "meh" as a group buff, mostly due to losing spellcasting (though I'm not sure if that applies to my cleric Spell-like abilities from the domains), but without a saving throw OR allowing for spell resistance, would you be able to effectively lockdown spellcasters?


I don't think so. Rage can only target willing creatures, and generally enemies are not considered willing recipients of spells.

Scarab Sages

Good catch. Sad day, but still, it could be useful if I can use Spell-like abilities, or if anyone in the group ends up being a weapon-based combatant...


It is kinda meh, as you put it. Chalk it up as one of those spells with little use in a standard group of player characters. I've never cast it before.

It could be useful for melee heavy npcs, or in a campaign with few magic items.

Scarab Sages

Ciaran Barnes wrote:

It is kinda meh, as you put it. Chalk it up as one of those spells with little use in a standard group of player characters. I've never cast it before.

It could be useful for melee heavy npcs, or in a campaign with few magic items.

Well, I can still see the use. It's a morale bonus, so the only class that can't get much benefit from it is, ironically enough, the Barbarian, but it grants 1HP per HD, +1 to attack and +1(or +2, depending on the modifier) to damage, which isn't terrible. It stacks with pretty much everything, which is also nice. It's just a REALLY small bonus for a 3rd level spell.


It can be pretty nice on a barbarian, actually. Because it's "identical with a barbarian's rage", the barbarian gets his rage powers while the spell is up. The bonuses aren't as good as an actual rage, but it can be handy to have a fallback for if the day is running long and you're low on rounds of rage. 1 round/level is often enough to keep raging for another fight.


While it is true that a barbarian would get his rage powers it seems unlikely that he would be running out of rage at that level. Since rage is a 3rd level spell the wizard doesn't get it until 5th level. If the barbarian is straight barbarian 5, he has a minimum of 12 rounds of rage at a CON of 10 (which is unlikely).


Totally depends on length of the dm's combats. I never thought of getting rage powers off with the spell, and im playing a barbarian right now. Thanks guys!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rage (The Spell) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.