Metamagic and bonded items


Rules Questions


Can you use metamagic when recalling a spell from a bonded item?

For example. I have the extend spell feat, 3rd level spells, and a bonded ring. I want to call rope trick (2nd level spell) from my book and use a 3rd level slot to also have it be extended. Can I do that?

Edit: Though I'm also interested in opinions, I'm more interested in RAW in this case. So if it's raw please tell me where it's written. Thanks.


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:

Can you use metamagic when recalling a spell from a bonded item?

For example. I have the extend spell feat, 3rd level spells, and a bonded ring. I want to call rope trick (2nd level spell) from my book and use a 3rd level slot to also have it be extended. Can I do that?

Edit: Though I'm also interested in opinions, I'm more interested in RAW in this case. So if it's raw please tell me where it's written. Thanks.

Straight up RAW answer:

Arcane Bond wrote:

A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard's level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities . The bonded object cannot be used to cast spells from the wizard's opposition schools (see arcane school below).

My emphasis.


HaraldKlak wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:

Can you use metamagic when recalling a spell from a bonded item?

For example. I have the extend spell feat, 3rd level spells, and a bonded ring. I want to call rope trick (2nd level spell) from my book and use a 3rd level slot to also have it be extended. Can I do that?

Edit: Though I'm also interested in opinions, I'm more interested in RAW in this case. So if it's raw please tell me where it's written. Thanks.

Straight up RAW answer:

Arcane Bond wrote:

A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard's level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities . The bonded object cannot be used to cast spells from the wizard's opposition schools (see arcane school below).

My emphasis.

Well alright then. ;-) Thanks for the quick response. I must have glossed over that previously.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Metamagic and bonded items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions