
Shade325 |

So purchasing an imposition takes 1 full day unless otherwise noted. I think I'm feeling a disconnect between the rules and the theme.
For instance the Disgraceful Imposition Yes, Sir!.
Yes, Sir!: For the next hour, the PCs’ crew completes any mundane tasks they’re assigned in half the expected time. This typically relates to Craft and Profession (sailor) checks made to prepare, maintain, or repair the ship, and cannot be applied to combat or more complex deeds like crafting magic items.
So the idea is that at some point you spend a full day to spend your disrepute to have this option available which you can later use???
Is it just me or does this feel off? Shouldn't Yes, Sir! be something you spend disrepute on in the moment?
"All right boyos, the Luck Lassie just left port and we're giving chase. I need our ship off this dock in record time. Get to it."
"Yes, sir!"
Impositions like Captains Orders!, Besmara's Blessing, & Master the Waves! I could see requiring a day in port to buy an "item" or "blessing" that allows the character to do the magical effect but others like Walk the Plank!, Shiver Me Timbers! Deadmen Tell No Tales! Lashings! & More Lashings! feel like impositions you should spend disrepute on in the moment?
"Bosun we need this ship to go faster? The Lucky Lassie is pulling away."
"Sorry captain you haven't been lashing the crew for the last full day so I can't motivate them to make the ship go any faster."
Really???
Shade325

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

The restriction of 1 day to purchase an imposition is to prevent the PCs from spending all of their Disrepute at once to buy a lot of impositions.
The text states that purchasing an imposition requires 1 full day unless otherwise noted. Those impositions that have effects for an hour or the like are the "otherwise noted" exceptions, but a crew still cannot purchase more than one imposition each day.

Jim Cavalcoli |
I have a question regarding the distinction between PC and Party in the use of Disrepute points and Impositions. Many of the impositions are a spell cast by a PC, yet the Party has the disrepute to spend these. Is this a group decision to spend? Also -- do they have to buy the impositions like a scroll in Port? or can they spend disrepute to buy 1 imposition per day ( if they still have points?). I'm still adjusting to this new system and getting ready to run this adventure path. Thanks in advance for your help!

![]() |

I have a question regarding the distinction between PC and Party in the use of Disrepute points and Impositions. Many of the impositions are a spell cast by a PC, yet the Party has the disrepute to spend these. Is this a group decision to spend? Also -- do they have to buy the impositions like a scroll in Port? or can they spend disrepute to buy 1 imposition per day ( if they still have points?). I'm still adjusting to this new system and getting ready to run this adventure path. Thanks in advance for your help!
Yes, since the party shares Disrepute, it should be a group decision to spend it. It depends on the imposition as to where it is "bought" - some impositions have direct effects on the ship, so they can be paid for at sea, while other require you be in port to spend plunder and the like. Basically, it's up the GM where and when the PCs can purchase impositions, based on common sense.

llaletin |

A little bit of threadomancy...
Am I right in thinking that once purchased, an imposition is constantly usable unless it states otherwise (ie. 'Besmara's Blessings!' can be used to cast the stated spells whenever they like from that point on, every round, every day if they wish, for the rest of the PCs lives, as long as they are on the ship)?