Magus and multiple round touch spells


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If a magus cast a touch spell that allows him a touch attack for multiple rounds, can he deliver the touch attack each round through his weapon, or only on the first round when the spell is actually cast? For example, a 4th level magus uses spellstrike to cast Frostbite and delivers the attack through his weapon. Frostbite allows you to use the touch attack one time per level before the spell is gone. So, for 3 rounds after can he still use his weapon to deliver the spell attack or must he choose either a weapon attack for regular weapon damage or the touch attack to deal the spell damage? I hope I am not confusing anyone. I'm kind of confusing myself. Thanks for any help.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

galvatron42 wrote:
If a magus cast a touch spell that allows him a touch attack for multiple rounds, can he deliver the touch attack each round through his weapon, or only on the first round when the spell is actually cast? For example, a 4th level magus uses spellstrike to cast Frostbite and delivers the attack through his weapon. Frostbite allows you to use the touch attack one time per level before the spell is gone. So, for 3 rounds after can he still use his weapon to deliver the spell attack or must he choose either a weapon attack for regular weapon damage or the touch attack to deal the spell damage? I hope I am not confusing anyone. I'm kind of confusing myself. Thanks for any help.

This is one of those ambiguous things that causes a lot of arguments, but my take on it is this:

Round 1: you cast the multi-touch touch spell, make your normal full-attack and also get the free attack for casting a touch-range spell to deliver it. If you hit more than once, you can deliver the touch each time if you hit.
Round 2: You can make your full attack or a single attack, either way you can deliver another touch each time until you run out of charges. If you cast another spell at any time, you lose any leftover charges you haven't delivered yet.
Round 3: rinse, repeat until out of charges.

Dark Archive

What other touch spells allow you touch attacks over multiple rounds? This is my first time playing a spellcaster in PF, so I have not been over the spells in detail in quite some time. Thanks for the help!


galvatron42 wrote:
If a magus cast a touch spell that allows him a touch attack for multiple rounds, can he deliver the touch attack each round through his weapon, or only on the first round when the spell is actually cast?

This is not really a magus question but a normal rules question that gets brought up because of the magus class.

The magi ability spellstrike allows them to deliver touch spells through normal melee attacks with their weapon. This includes being given a free normal melee attack with their weapon rather than the free melee touch attack.

Anytime that a magi could deliver a touch spell they can instead make a normal melee attack with their weapon and ALSO deliver the touch spell.

A normal caster could elect to deliver a held touch spell with an unarmed strike or a natural weapon. If the spell allows multiple touches (say chill touch) then they can do this multiple times. Magi are no different.

-James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus and multiple round touch spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions