A Wizards Arcane Bonded item


Rules Questions


If a wizard picks an arcane bonded item and chooses the ability to cast additional spells per day instead of the magic item, then can he still add magical abilities to it later?

Does he need the required feats to do this or can he modify it as long as he meets the level requirement?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Rubber Ducky guy wrote:
If a wizard picks an arcane bonded item and chooses the ability to cast additional spells per day instead of the magic item, then can he still add magical abilities to it later?

Both are features of the bonded item; it's not either/or. You don't "choose" to get an extra spell per day; that's part of the definition of the bonded item.

So yes, you can do both.

Quote:
Does he need the required feats to do this or can he modify it as long as he meets the level requirement?

It's right there in the description:

Arcane Bond wrote:
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats...

Note the "as if" clause. That means you get to pretend you have those feats for the purposes of this ability.


He still needs to be the proper level. So for a weapon it's level 5, for a ring level 7 or a staff even 11. I think an Amulet would be a wondrous item and allow it at level 3.

Grand Lodge

What the Arcane Bonded item does is substitute for the appropriate feat. All other aspects of creating a magic item, including costs and skill checks, still apply.


Never mind the question. It was a context problem.
He can have an object which can be used for spells or as a magical item or a familiar. Once this is chosen it can't be changed. I read that as three options instead of 2

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Rubber Ducky guy wrote:

Never mind the question. It was a context problem.

He can have an object which can be used for spells or as a magical item or a familiar. Once this is chosen it can't be changed. I read that as three options instead of 2

Ah yes, the classic "mental insertion of a comma to create a list". Easy to do when option #1 is much wordier than option #2. :P

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A Wizards Arcane Bonded item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions