Pre-gens, Day Jobs, and spending cash (Apologies to Josh)


GM Discussion

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Checking the forums before I started, I didn't see the answer to a couple of things that came up for me as I was playing pregens.

I have a 2nd level rogue and wanted to play though a couple of higher level scenarios. I have a day job, and earned some gold on the road to 2nd level. I will refer to this character, the one the scenarios will be applied to when the character reaches the level of the pregen as the "main character."

First adventure with a Pre-gen. We played Midnight Mauler and wanted silvered weapons at the start of the adventure. The GM offered that we could use the money the main character has to purchase things now for the pregen; but only things that our main character has access to. We record the money as spent now and when the main catches up that equipment will become part of the main character's inventory. I marked off 22gp for a silvered dagger from my character sheet and moved on.
Now: If I record the purchase on the chronicle I don't apply now, how do I record I spent the money in the official track of what got spent where?

Same adventure. Asked about the Day Job and the GM asked around and got the answer that if I've got one I make the roll with the pregen's skill and note it on the Chronicle in the normal way and it kicks in with the other rewards when the main character catches up.
Now: I'm OK with this.

Another adventure, Sewer Dragons of Absolom. In the course of this scenario I wanted to buy the freedom of an NPC, and a Cure Disease for the same. The GM ruled no to using my main character's current funds. One of the other 3 who had main characters picked up the tab for the 3 of us running pregens. Then needed to make a purchase for an outfit, and a minor magic item to explore the sewer. I was uncomfortable spending my fellow player's monies; it seemed they were being penalized for my participation. The GM waived the rest of the "costs" in favor of moving on.
Now: I'm OK with the GM's rulings, he was even generous. But a 7th level character is really limited with only 14gp to spend in the city.

Same adventure. Got around to the Day Job, GM had never heard of anyone with a pregen taking a Day Job roll. He allowed the roll as I had precedent.

So... OK, I got 2 very different examples of rulings on these 2 money matters. Both had reason to them and came from experienced GMs. Purchases sometimes need to be made in the course of a scenario, especially in the course of completing some faction missions. The pregen is what it is. The Day Job is nice; in my case I even spent Prestige Points to have it. I've completed scenario when the main catches up, right? Again, the pregen is what it is and has no day job.

Are there an official rulings I can reference for the next time I GM?

Shadow Lodge 4/5 5/5 RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 8

I don't believe that you have access to your main character's funds or prestige while using a pregen. You are, for all intensive purposes, just *that* character. So if *that* character has only 14 gold, you may sell some of his stuff off at 1/2 value, provided you are in a major city, to acquire the funds to free your slave. His total wealth has been balanced for that level (7, or whatever) and has been distributed among his gear. To add more gold on top of that would be silly.

Grand Lodge 5/5

Also, pregens do not get Day Job rolls (even if the PC you will give the Chronicle to does get a Day Job roll).

Grand Lodge 4/5 *

You can't sell pre-gen gear. Playing a pre-gen is playing with what is on the sheet. It's a way to play when you otherwise could not, and should not be viewed as someone you do on purpose.

The Exchange 5/5

Scott Young wrote:

You can't sell pre-gen gear. Playing a pre-gen is playing with what is on the sheet. It's a way to play when you otherwise could not, and should not be viewed as someone you do on purpose.

Is this listed someplace?

I can see where it might be abused, but I can also see the other side too. For Example: Kyra knows she's going to need a spell during the mod, so she sells off a potion to buy the spell on a scroll. As long as the player runs it by the Judge, what's the issue?

1/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes.

Its in the guide on page 4. Its the last sentence in the getting started section.

"Equipment listed on
the pregenerated character sheet may never be sold."

The Exchange 5/5

Lab_Rat wrote:

Yes.

Its in the guide on page 4. Its the last sentence in the getting started section.

"Equipment listed on
the pregenerated character sheet may never be sold."

oh, well. sigh. guess that goes to show how often I read (and remember) the guide.

Thanks Lab Rat.

Shadow Lodge 4/5 5/5 RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 8

Don't feel bad nosig, I missed it as well. Other players could buy the scroll for Kyra, I suppose, all the while scolding her for her poor spending in the past :P

Grand Lodge 5/5

Actually, for modules you may sell gear to clear conditions during play.

PFS Guide 4.1, Chapter 6 wrote:
Equipment listed on the pregenerated character sheet may only be sold to clear conditions, such as death, during the play of the module and any remaining gold does not carry over at the end of the module.

1/5

Interesting. A module specific rule. Didn't know that one.

I guess that makes sense since you may be playing a lot longer with that pregen than a normal one and done scenario.

Grand Lodge 5/5

Actually Chapter 6 is an entire chapter of module specific rules.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / Pre-gens, Day Jobs, and spending cash (Apologies to Josh) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion