Rules clarification needed! (Sap Adept / Master)


Rules Questions


Hi

Just need some clarification regarding SAP Adept / Master feats.

Sap Adept states:

Whenever you use a bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal sneak attack damage, you gain a bonus on your damage roll equal to twice the number of sneak attack damage dice you rolled.

So if I rolled 3d6, I'll gain +6 (3x2) damage?

Sap Master states:

Whenever you use a bludgeoning weapon to deal nonlethal sneak attack damage to a flat-footed opponent, roll your sneak attack dice twice, totaling the results as your nonlethal sneak attack damage for that attack.

So if I rolled the same 3d6, I'll gain another 3d6 for damage? If this is true, SAP Adept will earn me +6 or +12?

Thanks!


Looks like you'd get +6 bud. .

Sap Adept states

"you gain a bonus on your damage roll equal to twice the number of sneak attack damage dice you rolled."

Sap master States

"roll your sneak attack dice twice"

As I interpret this you are rolling 3d6 twice not 12d6 I could be wrong, but that is how I see it.


I am reading it as 6d6(3d6 doubled due to Sap Master)+6(due to Sap Adept).


wraithstrike wrote:
I am reading it as 6d6(3d6 doubled due to Sap Master)+6(due to Sap Adept).

Indeed I see this way too, as it is more restrictive. I guess it's the same thinking as Vazok posted.


See that is the problem, it does not say it -doubles- your sneak attack dice on a flat footed opponent. It says you roll you sneak attack damage twice, your sneak attack damage dice total never changes.

You would get 6d6 dice for the attack (3d6 rolled twice) but you would only get +6 to the damage not +12.

I think.


Yep. Thanks!


I read it as +12...

"roll your sneak attack dice twice"
"equal to twice the number of sneak attack damage dice you rolled"

Considering this is nonlethal damage vs a FF target, I have no problems with a potential extra 20 damage.


I also think by RAW it's +12, as Archaeik quoted to show. RAI was probably +6, but I'm personally fine with it being the doubled amount.


I've seen other threads where it was agreed to be RAW that you double the number of already-doubled dice. That's my reading as well. You're not just doubling the sneak attack damage with sap master, you're doubling the number of dice you roll.

Sap master ninja scouts can lay some serious smack down on things that aren't immune to nonlethal damage.

For extra fun, consider that a scout's charge or skirmisher ability is not negated by uncanny dodge, as it doesn't cause the target to actually become flat-footed (to which they are immune) but just states that it deals sneak attack damage as if they were, even though they're not.


I have a blue dice, I pick it up and roll it 8 times. I have a Red dice, I pick it up and roll it twice. How many dice have i rolled?


There's nothing to stop you from rolling a single d6 for all the sneak attack dice you roll if you're low on d6s, for example. Number of dice rolled = X where xd6 is the total sneak attack damage being done before the bonus.


I think you took my meaning a bit too literal, was just pointing out 3d6 sneak attack dice are still three dice if you are called to roll them again for free damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rules clarification needed! (Sap Adept / Master) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions