| Lobolusk |
My character already has existing primary claws and a bite. if i take levels in dragon disciple how does that interact?
the prestige class says once i gain claw attacks form the bloodline. but what if I take a level in bard instead of sorcerer?
does my bite increase? or what if i take Sorc do i get 2 more claw attacks?
discuss!
| Archaeik |
Blegh, I'm going to argue RAW vs RAI here...
Starting at 1st level, you can grow claws as a free action. These claws are treated as natural weapons, allowing you to make two claw attacks as a full attack action using your full base attack bonus. Each of these attacks deals 1d4 points of damage plus your Strength modifier (1d3 if you are Small). At 5th level, these claws are considered magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming DR. At 7th level, the damage increases by one step to 1d6 points of damage (1d4 if you are Small). At 11th level, these claws deal an additional 1d6 points of damage of your energy type on a successful hit. You can use your claws for a number of rounds per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.
Now, it is clearly intended that you grow "claws as a dragon". This appears to imply "arms" even if dragons also iconically have foot claws as well.
My issue with this is that none of the abilities (save eidolons) have well defined restrictions on where you can put those claws.
The Bestiary contains several examples of creatures with foot claws. Are those strictly the exception? / What exactly is stopping you from taking those claws on your feet? (other than shoes - AND if you can get gloves with claw holes, why not shoes, all these issues, etc etc...)
So where am I going with this?
I'm not simply suggesting that you should be able to put these claws on your feet, I'm saying that if you actually had another set of arms, AND you could put the claws on those hands, why couldn't you put them on your feet? AND if you could put them on your feet, why can't you do that anyway?? Is this something that is also limited by the concept of "offhands" or are natural weapons actually different (as so much of the evidence suggests they are different)?
I'm sorry if this is coming off snippy, but it's a longstanding gripe I've had with the rules as written... there's just no reason why you shouldn't technically be able to get your 3rd/4th claw attacks other than it was not intended.
I would very much appreciate if these issues were cleared up given the plethora of means by which to gain natural attacks.
To the OP
bbt has it right, the attacks overlap, use the better of the two...
My only caution here, is I believe that the 1.5x Str on the DD bite is tied directly to it being 1d6.
(ie. if you're normal bite was 1d8 1x Str, you'd need to choose between higher base damage(1d8)/lower Str(1x) OR lower base damage(1d6)/higher Str(1.5x)
Size changes would still modify the base dice accordingly.
| Lab_Rat |
You are correct that there are no restrictions on what set of limbs you can put claws on. Draconic bloodline and other abilities that give claws don't state specifically that the claws are on your hands. I would love to see this FAQ'd as there is a lot of confusion about what the rules are since the natural weapons rules were written for monsters not PCs.