Azata, Ghaele questions


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

These azatas have this:

Ranged 2 light rays +14 ranged touch (2d12)

Light Ray (Ex):A ghaele's light rays have a range of 300 feet. This attack bypasses all damage reduction.

Just wanted to make sure I was reading these guys correctly-

First off, the number of attacks: does the azata get 2 light rays as a standard action, or is this their full attack? I'm assuming this would be their full attack.

Is each ray worth 2d12 points of damage, or is this the total for both, meaning each ray is 1d12. I have always thought the dice in parentheses were to damage for each separate hit, like this example:

Leopard Melee bite +6 (1d6+3 plus grab), 2 claws +6 (1d3+3)

assumption is each bite is d6+3 and each claw is d3+3

If each ray is 2d12 for the azata, this make it a very powerful creature, eh?

One of these combined with an 18th level fighter pretty much wiped out a CR 17 Dragon.

EDIT- does Spell Resistance factor into a defense against it?

Grand Lodge

Unless otherwise specified, special attacks take a standard action, so Light Ray is two rays as a standard action. (Refer to Scorching Ray for a similar example.) Each ray is 2d12, as noted in the Ranged line under Offense.


nogoodscallywag wrote:
EDIT- does Spell Resistance factor into a defense against it?

It is not a spell - spell resistance does not apply.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Azata, Ghaele questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions